Skip to content
InfraWorldWide
← All projects
Railways

Athens Airport – SKA – Kiato – Patras railway

New standard-gauge double track from Athens Airport through the Acharnes Railway Centre (SKA) and Corinth to Kiato and on along the Gulf of Corinth to Aigio and Patras, the Patras end of the PATHE axis. ERGOSE manages the works. Airport – SKA (about 32 km) was completed in 2004 and SKA – Kiato (about 105 km) was handed over in 2005 and 2007 and electrified in December 2010. Kiato – Rododafni (Aigio), about 71 km, was handed over on 22 June 2020 and runs on diesel traction while its electrification contract is in progress. West of Rododafni the infrastructure of the Panagopoula twin tunnel section was completed in 2022 and track, signalling and electrification are being installed; the Psathopyrgos – Patras (Bozaitika) infrastructure has been under construction since 2017. The Treis Gefyres – SKA stretch is recorded in the Athens – Thessaloniki project. Rio – Patras New Port is at study stage and is not a lot here. Electrification and systems contracts on track measured by another lot are described in that lot's note and not counted again.

Total length
240 km
Open today
208 km
Under construction
32 km
Sections
5
Loading map data…

Sections

Sections of Athens Airport – SKA – Kiato – Patras railway: status, length, dates, cost, funding and contractors
SectionsStatusLengthTimelineCostFundingContractorsContract terms
Athens Airport – SKA

New double track from the Acharnes Railway Centre (SKA) to Athens Airport at Spata, between the two carriageways of the Attiki Odos motorway, with signalling, remote control and electrification, as part of the Athens suburban railway. ERGOSE gives 32 km, funding of EUR 240 million from the Third Community Support Framework and EUR 60 million from national resources (no total cost is stated), design speed 140 km/h to Doukissis Plakentias and 160 km/h beyond, and nine stops (Metamorfosi, Irakleio, Nerantziotissa, Kifisias, Pentelis, Doukissis Plakentias, Pallini, Kantza, Koropi); Greek Wikipedia gives 33 km and dates the start of work to January 2002. The Doukissis Plakentias – Airport stretch is also used by Metro Line 3, a line not recorded in this dataset.

Opened32 km
  1. 2002Construction start
  2. Jul 30, 2004Opened
–
  • European UnionOperational Programme Railways, Airports and Urban Transport 2000–2006 (Third Community Support Framework)
  • National budgetNational resources
––
SKA – Kiato

New double track from the Acharnes Railway Centre (SKA) to the new Kiato station, with ETCS signalling, telecommunications and electrification. ERGOSE lists 5 tunnels of about 8,264 m in total, 4 cut-and-cover sections of about 1,401 m, 21 railway bridges, 60 grade-separated crossings, 8 stations (Ano Liosia, Magoula, Nea Peramos, Megara, Kineta, Agioi Theodoroi, Corinth, Kiato) and 3 stops (Thriasio, Zevgolatio, and the new Zefyri stop, handed over to OSE in July 2017). Construction began in 1998, SKA – Corinth was handed over in 2005 and Corinth – Kiato in 2007; the line was in full operation with electric traction from December 2010. ERGOSE gives a design speed of 200 km/h beyond Thriasio and a travel time of 60 minutes, down from 110.

Opened105 km
  1. 1998Construction start
  2. 2007Opened
  • Estimated €620MProject cost as given by ERGOSE on a page that lists the project as completed; the page does not say whether this is a budget or the final cost. Price year and VAT treatment not stated.
  • European UnionCohesion Fund 1994–1996 and 2000–2006 (infrastructure, track, signalling); OP Railways, Airports and Urban Transport 2000–2006 and OP Accessibility Improvement 2007–2013 (electrification); Regional Operational Programme Attica 2007–2013 (Zefyri stop)
––
Kiato – Rododafni (Aigio)

New double track from the new Kiato station to Rododafni, beyond Aigio station, with ETCS level 1 signalling and telecommunications. ERGOSE lists 6 tunnels of about 11,000 m in total, 8 escape tunnels of 2,150 m, 13 cut-and-cover sections of 1,710 m, 18 railway bridges, 3 stations (Xylokastro, Akrata, Aigio) and 6 stops (Diminio, Lykoporia, Lygia, Platanos, Diakopto, Elikis); design speed 200 km/h for Kiato – Lykoporia and 150 km/h for Lykoporia – Rododafni. Construction began in 2006 and ERGOSE planned completion for 2019; Greek Wikipedia gives handover on 22 June 2020, and the Diminio stop opened in September 2020. Electrification of the 70.6 km is a separate ERGOSE contract (no. 1511), signed on 6 July 2022 with a TERNA – Mytilineos joint venture for EUR 54.82 million excluding VAT, with two traction substations at Xylokastro and Aigio; ERGOSE planned 2022–2025 and Greek Wikipedia gives a contract deadline extended on 11 December 2025 to 28 December 2026. It runs on track this lot already measures, so it is not a lot of its own.

Opened71 km
  1. 2006Construction start
  2. Jun 22, 2020Opened
  • Estimated €920MProject cost as given by ERGOSE, whose page still lists the project as under construction with completion in 2019; price year and VAT treatment not stated. Excludes the separate electrification contract.
  • European UnionKiato – Diakopto: Cohesion Fund 2000–2006 and national resources. Diakopto – Rododafni: ESPA (NSRF) 2007–2013 and 2014–2020 and national resources
––
Rododafni – Psathopyrgos (Panagopoula tunnel)

Infrastructure of the new double track from chainage km 91+500 to km 113+000 between Rododafni and Psathopyrgos, including the Panagopoula twin tunnel (two bores of about 4,800 m with cut-and-cover ends, cross-passages every 500 m and an intermediate access tunnel of about 500 m), 3 railway bridges and 27 grade-separated crossings. ERGOSE lists the infrastructure contract as completed in 2022 for EUR 315 million. The line is not yet in service: track, signalling, electrification and stations over 28.8 km from Rododafni to the cut-and-cover after the new Rio stop (this lot and the first part of Psathopyrgos – Patras) are in ERGOSE contract 1510, signed on 22 November 2022 with a TERNA – Mytilineos joint venture for EUR 125.76 million excluding VAT, planned for 2022–2025. Greek Wikipedia gives a contract deadline extended from 22 November 2025 to 1 December 2026 and estimates that the line will reach only Psathopyrgos by then; no opening date is recorded for this lot. The contract value is not recorded as this lot's cost because it also covers part of the next lot.

Under construction22 km
  1. 2013Construction start
  • Estimated €315MProject cost as given by ERGOSE on a page that lists the infrastructure contract as completed; the page does not say whether this is a budget or the final cost. Excludes track, signalling and electrification, which are in contract 1510. Price year and VAT treatment not stated.
  • European UnionConnecting Europe Facility 2014–2020 from 1 January 2014; national resources before
––
Psathopyrgos – Patras (Bozaitika)

Infrastructure of the new double track from Psathopyrgos to the Bozaitika area near Patras: formation of about 10.5 km, 2 cut-and-cover sections of 1,018 m in total (Agios Vasileios 625.97 m and Rio 392.20 m), 10 grade-separated crossings and 4 railway bridges of 60 m in total, design speed 100–120 km/h. ERGOSE gives the start of construction as 2017, planned completion in 2020 and an estimated cost of EUR 117 million, and its page lists the work as under construction. Greek Wikipedia states that the infrastructure from Psathopyrgos to Rio was started in 2017 but never completed and expects delivery of this stretch in 2028 (statement without a citation). Track, signalling and electrification of the first part, up to the cut-and-cover after the Rio stop, are in contract 1510 (see the previous lot). The drawn line measures only the part carried in OpenStreetMap.

Under construction11 km
  1. 2017Construction start
  • Estimated €117MEstimated cost as given by ERGOSE for the infrastructure; price year and VAT treatment not stated.
  • European UnionConnecting Europe Facility 2014–2020 and national resources
––

Funding

  • European Union240 km
    5 sections
    • Operational Programme Railways, Airports and Urban Transport 2000–2006 (Third Community Support Framework)
    • Cohesion Fund 1994–1996 and 2000–2006 (infrastructure, track, signalling); OP Railways, Airports and Urban Transport 2000–2006 and OP Accessibility Improvement 2007–2013 (electrification); Regional Operational Programme Attica 2007–2013 (Zefyri stop)
    • Kiato – Diakopto: Cohesion Fund 2000–2006 and national resources. Diakopto – Rododafni: ESPA (NSRF) 2007–2013 and 2014–2020 and national resources
    • Connecting Europe Facility 2014–2020 from 1 January 2014; national resources before
    • Connecting Europe Facility 2014–2020 and national resources
  • National budget32 km
    1 section
    • National resources

A section that lists two sources counts its full length under each: the data records which sources paid, not what share each one carried.

Related projects

Sources

  1. ERGOSE: ΣΚΑ – Αεροδρόμιο (project page)read Oct 5, 2026
  2. ERGOSE: ΣΚΑ – Κιάτο (project page)read Oct 5, 2026
  3. ERGOSE: Κιάτο – Ροδοδάφνη (Αίγιο) (Υποδομή, Επιδομή, Σηματοδότηση, Σταθμοί) (project page)read Oct 5, 2026
  4. ERGOSE: Ηλεκτροκίνηση της νέας διπλής σιδηροδρομικής γραμμής στο τμήμα Κιάτο – Ροδοδάφνη (project page)read Oct 5, 2026
  5. ERGOSE: Ροδοδάφνη (Αίγιο) – Ψαθόπυργος (Σήραγγα Παναγοπούλας) (Υποδομή) (project page)read Oct 5, 2026
  6. ERGOSE: Ροδοδάφνη – Ρίο (Επιδομή, Σηματοδότηση, Σταθμοί) (project page)read Oct 5, 2026
  7. ERGOSE: Ψαθόπυργος – Πάτρα (περιοχή Μποζαΐτικα) (Υποδομή) (project page)read Oct 5, 2026
  8. ERGOSE: Συμβάσεις Έργων (contracts register, contracts 1510 and 1511)read Oct 5, 2026
  9. Wikipedia (Greek): Σιδηροδρομική γραμμή Αεροδρομίου Αθηνών - Πάτραςread Oct 5, 2026
  10. Wikipedia: Athens Airport–Patras railwayread Oct 5, 2026
  11. OpenStreetMap contributors: route geometry (ODbL)read Oct 5, 2026