Skip to content
InfraWorldWide
← All projects
Railways

Athens – Thessaloniki railway modernisation (PATHE)

Modernisation of the Piraeus – Platy main line, the Athens – Thessaloniki part of the Patras – Athens – Thessaloniki – Idomeni/Promachonas (PATHE/P) axis, into an electrified double track for 160–200 km/h. Works started in 1996 and are managed by ERGOSE, the OSE subsidiary set up that year. The largest section is the new 106 km Tithorea – Domokos line (about EUR 1.8 billion for the whole section), which replaced 122 km of mountain single track and runs through the Kallidromo and Othrys twin tunnels; its last part opened on 29 January 2019, completing double track from Athens to Thessaloniki. Also covered: the new Evangelismos – Leptokarya line through the Tempi area (2004), the rebuilding of Domokos – Krannon after storms Daniel and Elias in 2023, and the planned SKA – Oinoi upgrade. Line-wide contracts are not split into lots: electrification of Acharnes – Tithorea and Domokos – Thessaloniki (EUR 189.5 million; in service north of Domokos in 2007–2008, restored on Acharnes – Tithorea in 2017), upgrading of about 255 km of single-track equivalent between Oinoi – Tithorea, Domokos – Larissa and Aiginio – Thessaloniki (EUR 87.7 million, 2005–2010), and signalling contract 717 (TOMI – Alstom, EUR 41.3 million after discount, signed September 2014).

Total length
234 km
Open today
142 km
Sections
6
Loading map data…

Sections

Sections of Athens – Thessaloniki railway modernisation (PATHE): status, length, dates, cost, funding and contractors
SectionsStatusLengthTimelineCostFundingContractorsContract terms
SKA – Oinoi upgrade

Upgrade of the existing line from the Acharnes Railway Centre (SKA) to Oinoi station: widening of the formation within the existing corridor, loading gauge to current standards, freight passing loops, a rebuilt Oinoi junction station and new stops at Kryoneri and Oinofyta. ERGOSE gives about 52 km and reports the project at design stage; its page is undated. The length recorded is the OSE Network Statement 2020 figure for the SKA – Oinoi route.

Planned52 km–
  • Estimated €100MERGOSE estimated project cost; price year and VAT treatment not stated.
  • European UnionOperational Programme Transport Infrastructure, Environment and Sustainable Development 2014–2020, as named by ERGOSE
––
Tithorea – Lianokladi (Kallidromo tunnel)

New double track from Tithorea station east through the Kallidromo twin tunnel and across the Spercheios plain to Lianokladi station, with the new Molos station. ERGOSE gives each bore as 9,036 m; Greek Wikipedia gives 9,259 m and 9,262 m (km 169+608 to 178+878). GEK TERNA lists the Kallidromo tunnel among its projects, built in a joint venture whose partners it does not name. No length is published for this part alone: 55 km is the OSE length of the new Tithorea – Domokos line (107.33 km) less the 31 km and 21 km ERGOSE gives for the two later openings. ERGOSE puts the cost of the whole Tithorea – Domokos section at about EUR 1.8 billion, not split by part, and dates the start of construction of the section to 1997; the line was completed under contract no. 635, which covers the whole section.

Opened55 km
  1. 1997Construction start
  2. Jan 31, 2018Opened
–
  • European UnionTithorea – Domokos as a whole: OP Railways 1994–99, OP Railways, Airports and Urban Transport 2000–2006, OP Accessibility Improvement 2007–2013 and the Connecting Europe Facility 2014–2020
  • GEK TERNABuilder
–
Lianokladi – Aggeies (Othrys tunnel)

New double track from Lianokladi station through the Othrys twin tunnel to the Xyniada plain and the Aggeies stop, with the new Agios Stefanos (Xyniada) station listed by OSE; 10 railway bridges. Put into service on 7 January 2019. ERGOSE describes the tunnel as 7 km (its project page says 6,380 m per bore); Greek Wikipedia gives 7,036 m and 7,045 m (km 235+624 to 242+669) and dates the start of tunnel construction to 1998. ERGOSE's 1997 construction start is for the whole Tithorea – Domokos section, so none is recorded for this part. Cost is part of the roughly EUR 1.8 billion ERGOSE gives for the whole Tithorea – Domokos section.

Opened31 km
  1. Jan 7, 2019Opened
–
  • European UnionTithorea – Domokos as a whole: OP Railways 1994–99, OP Railways, Airports and Urban Transport 2000–2006, OP Accessibility Improvement 2007–2013 and the Connecting Europe Facility 2014–2020
––
Aggeies – Domokos

Last missing part of the new Tithorea – Domokos line, from the Aggeies stop via the Thavmakos stop to Domokos station, crossing the SG26 steel arch bridge (404.80 m) at Ekkara. Opened on 29 January 2019 with diesel trains; ERGOSE planned electric operation of Lianokladi – Domokos by the end of February 2019. Cost is part of the roughly EUR 1.8 billion ERGOSE gives for the whole Tithorea – Domokos section; its 1997 construction start is also for the whole section, so none is recorded for this part.

Opened21 km
  1. Jan 29, 2019Opened
–
  • European UnionTithorea – Domokos as a whole: OP Railways 1994–99, OP Railways, Airports and Urban Transport 2000–2006, OP Accessibility Improvement 2007–2013 and the Connecting Europe Facility 2014–2020
––
Domokos – Krannon (post-flood rebuild)

Rebuilding of the double track from the exit of Domokos station (km 288+600) to the entrance of Krannon station (km 328+840) after storms Daniel and Elias in 2023: formation and track, slope protection, drainage, and a temporary bypass of about 2.5 km. Tendered on 11 December 2024; contract signed 28 April 2025 for 15 months. A completion certificate was issued on 31 August 2026, but trains between Domokos and Larissa still ran on a single track in late September 2026 while work continued. Signalling, ETCS and electrification between Palaiofarsalos and Krannon are restored under a separate tender with a budget of EUR 37.2 million (including VAT). Length is the difference between the two chainages.

Under construction
17 of 15 contracted months
2 months past the contract date
40 km
  1. Apr 28, 2025Tender awarded
  2. ≈2026Expected openingProjected from contract
  • Estimated €173.6MIncluding VAT. Tender budget.
  • European UnionRecovery and Resilience Facility (Greece)
  • European UnionNSRF (ESPA) 2021–2027
  • METKABuilder
15 mo total
Evangelismos – Leptokarya (Tempi)

New double track of about 35 km from Evangelismos station to Leptokarya station, replacing the line through the Vale of Tempe and along the coast at Platamon. Slab track was used for the first time in Greece in the Tempi area. Two tunnels of about 8.3 km in total, 4 cut-and-cover sections of about 1 km, 21 railway bridges; stations at Rapsani, Neoi Poroi and Leptokarya and a stop at Evangelismos. By OSE chainage the two end stations are 41.7 km apart (km 369+000 and 410+700).

Opened35 km
  1. 1996Construction start
  2. 2004Opened
  • Actual €470MProject cost as given by ERGOSE for the completed project; price year and VAT treatment not stated.
  • European UnionCohesion Fund 1994–2000 and 2000–2006
––

Contractor roles are as recorded in the award. Only builders count toward the delivery rankings.

Funding

  • European Union275 km
    7 sections
    • Operational Programme Transport Infrastructure, Environment and Sustainable Development 2014–2020, as named by ERGOSE
    • Tithorea – Domokos as a whole: OP Railways 1994–99, OP Railways, Airports and Urban Transport 2000–2006, OP Accessibility Improvement 2007–2013 and the Connecting Europe Facility 2014–2020
    • Recovery and Resilience Facility (Greece)
    • NSRF (ESPA) 2021–2027
    • Cohesion Fund 1994–2000 and 2000–2006

A section that lists two sources counts its full length under each: the data records which sources paid, not what share each one carried.

Related projects

Sources

  1. ERGOSE: Τιθορέα – Δομοκός (project page)read Sep 28, 2026
  2. ERGOSE: Παράδοση σύμφωνα με το χρονοδιάγραμμα της νέας σιδηροδρομικής γραμμής Τιθορέα-Λιανοκλάδι (press release, 2018-02-05)read Sep 28, 2026
  3. ERGOSE: Επίσκεψη στο έργο Τιθορέα-Δομοκός της ΕΡΓΟΣΕ (press release, 2016-11-29)read Sep 28, 2026
  4. ERGOSE: Διαδρομή στην σήραγγα Όθρυος (press release, 2018-12-24)read Sep 28, 2026
  5. ERGOSE: Παράδοση νέου τμήματος γραμμής (Lianokladi – Aggeies, press release, 2019-01-09)read Sep 28, 2026
  6. ERGOSE: Ολοκληρώθηκε η γραμμή Αθήνα – Θεσσαλονίκη (press release, 2019-01-28)read Sep 28, 2026
  7. ERGOSE: Ευαγγελισμός – Λεπτοκαρυά (project page)read Sep 28, 2026
  8. ERGOSE: Αναβάθμιση ΣΚΑ – Οινόη (project page)read Sep 28, 2026
  9. ERGOSE: Αναβάθμιση τμημάτων Οινόη – Τιθορέα και Δομοκός – Θεσσαλονίκη (project page)read Sep 28, 2026
  10. ERGOSE: Ηλεκτροκίνηση γραμμής Αθήνα – Θεσσαλονίκη (project page)read Sep 28, 2026
  11. ERGOSE: Υπεγράφη η σύμβαση προϋπολογισμού 13,3 εκ. ευρώ για την ολοκλήρωση των έργων αναβάθμισης του άξονα Αθήνα – Θεσσαλονίκη – Προμαχώνας (contract 717, press release, 2021-03-30)read Sep 28, 2026
  12. OSE: Network Statement 2020, Annexes (route lengths and station chainages, Piraeus – Athens – Platy)read Sep 28, 2026 · archived copy
  13. Wikipedia (Greek): Σήραγγα Καλλιδρόμουread Sep 28, 2026
  14. Wikipedia (Greek): Σήραγγα Όθρυος (σιδηροδρομική)read Sep 28, 2026
  15. Wikipedia: Piraeus–Platy railwayread Sep 28, 2026
  16. Wikipedia: P.A.Th.E./P.read Sep 28, 2026
  17. GEK TERNA: Σήραγγα Καλλιδρόμου (project page)read Sep 28, 2026
  18. Ypodomes.com: Προς παράδοση τα έργα αποκατάστασης στο τμήμα Δομοκός-Λάρισα (2026-08-25)read Sep 28, 2026
  19. onlarissa.gr: Βεβαίωση περαίωσης, αλλά τα τρένα κινούνται ακόμη σε μία γραμμή μέχρι τη Λάρισα (2026-09-25)read Sep 28, 2026
  20. OpenStreetMap contributors: route geometry (ODbL)read Sep 28, 2026