A1 Niš – Preševo (Corridor X south)
The southern A1 (E75) from the Niš South interchange through Leskovac, the Grdelica Gorge, Vranje and Bujanovac to the North Macedonia border at Preševo. It opened in stages from the 1990s; the last sections, through the Grdelica Gorge, opened on 18 May 2019. Lots follow the section names used by JP Putevi Srbije. Lengths are the published section figures where one exists; the Niš South–Pečenjevce length is measured from OpenStreetMap. No cost is recorded: Serbian sources give contract values for the gorge works but no outturn for any section.
- Total length
- 146 km
- Open today
- 146 km
- Sections
- 9
Sections
| Sections | Status | Length | Timeline | Cost | Funding | Contractors | Contract terms |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Niš South – Pečenjevce The oldest part of the southern A1, opened in stages in the 1990s. English Wikipedia dates Niš–Batušinac to 1992 and Batušinac–Pečenjevce to 1997; Serbian Wikipedia gives Doljevac–Pečenjevce (12 km) as 1997. The sources disagree on the split, so the lot carries the last year, 1997. Length measured from OpenStreetMap geometry. | Opened | 28 km |
| – | – | – | – |
| Pečenjevce – Grabovnica Opened in 2005 (year only in the source). Pečenjevce is the Leskovac Centre interchange; Grabovnica has no mapped interchange, so the cut is placed about 5.6 km before Grdelica. | Opened | 23 km |
| – | – | – | – |
| Grabovnica – Grdelica Ceremonially opened on 11 April 2016. | Opened | 6 km |
| – | – | – | – |
| Grdelica – Caričina Dolina Grdelica Gorge section with the Predejane tunnel. The ministry lists three works contracts here: Grdelica–Predejane tunnel (EUR 39.81 million, AZVI SA and TADDEI), Predejane tunnel–Caričina Dolina (EUR 37.51 million, TRACE and MOSTOVIK) and Predejane tunnel fit-out (EUR 15.24 million, Consortium Alliance X). Contract dates and VAT status are not stated, so no contract value is recorded. Gorge works began in October 2013. Caričina Dolina has no mapped interchange, so the cut divides the drawn gorge in the official 12 to 14.3 km proportion. | Opened | 12 km |
| – | – |
| – |
| Caričina Dolina – Vladičin Han Grdelica Gorge section with the Manajle tunnel (1,808 m) and the Vrla bridge. Ministry-listed contracts: Manajle tunnel fit-out (EUR 36.25 million, Consortium Alliance X), route and bridges Caričina Dolina–Manajle (EUR 53.64 million, Integral inženjering, Interkop Misar and Prijedor putevi) and Manajle tunnel–Vladičin Han (EUR 52.2 million contracted, AZVI and Construcciones Rubau). Contract dates and VAT status are not stated, so no contract value is recorded. Gorge works began in October 2013. Both gorge sections opened together on 18 May 2019. | Opened | 14 km |
| – | – |
| – |
| Vladičin Han – Donji Neradovac Opened on 28 November 2016 according to JP Putevi Srbije (Bilten 13–15). Serbian Wikipedia gives 2015 and a length of 26.3 km for this section; the bulletin figures are used. Donji Neradovac is cut at the village, as the mapped interchange there is unnamed. | Opened | 26 km |
| – | – | – | – |
| Donji Neradovac – Srpska Kuća Opened in 2013 (year only in the source). Length 6 km per JP Putevi Srbije (Bilten 13–15); Serbian Wikipedia gives 8 km. | Opened | 6 km |
| – |
|
| – |
| Srpska Kuća – Levosoje Full profile opened in September 2018, including the Bujanovac 1 interchange. Bilten 22–23 gives the day, 19 September, without a year; the year follows from the issue (it reports an event of 7 December 2018 as past), and Serbian Wikipedia has the section opened at the end of 2018. Srpska Kuća is the Bujanovac North interchange. | Opened | 10 km |
| – |
| – | – |
| Levosoje – Preševo (border) Built along the old trunk road. According to Serbian Wikipedia the first carriageway opened in 2009 and the second in 2013, and the section is 21.5 km; English Wikipedia gives 2013 for the section. The date here is the first carriageway. The length is the sum of the two bulletin sections Levosoje–Bukurevac (10.3 km) and Bukurevac–North Macedonia border (10.7 km). | Opened | 21 km |
| – | – | – | – |
Contractor roles are as recorded in the award. Only builders count toward the delivery rankings.
Funding
- National budget16 km2 sections
- Financed from the Serbian budget with financial assistance from the Greek government under the Greek Plan for the Economic Reconstruction of the Balkans.
- Financed from the Serbian budget (Bilten 13–15).
A section that lists two sources counts its full length under each: the data records which sources paid, not what share each one carried.
Related projects
- HighwaysA4 Niš – Dimitrovgrad (E80)Same contractor: Aktor, Construcciones Rubau, Trace Group Hold
- HighwaysA1 Trakia MotorwaySame contractor: Trace Group Hold
- HighwaysA2 Hemus MotorwaySame contractor: Trace Group Hold
- HighwaysA3 Struma MotorwaySame contractor: Aktor
- HighwaysMontana – Botevgrad Expressway (I-1 / E79)Same contractor: Trace Group Hold
- RailwaysSofia Metro Line M3 (Gorna Banya – Levski)Same contractor: Trace Group Hold
Corridors
The designations this project is recorded under. Both schemes are kept: the Pan-European corridors are how these projects were described when they were planned, and TEN-T is what EU money is allocated on today.
- Pan-European Corridor XPan-European
Sources
- Wikipedia (sr): Autoput A1 (Srbija), section Autoput Niš–Preševoread Oct 5, 2026
- Wikipedia (en): A1 motorway (Serbia), southern sectionread Oct 5, 2026
- JP Putevi Srbije: Bilten 13–15 (Grabovnica–Grdelica opened 11.04.2016; Donji Neradovac–Vladičin Han, 26.2 km, opened 28.11.2016; section lengths)read Oct 5, 2026
- JP Putevi Srbije: Bilten 22–23 (Srpska Kuća–Levosoje full profile opened on 19 September, year not stated in the article)read Oct 5, 2026
- Ministry of Construction, Transport and Infrastructure: Koridor 10 – Grdelička klisura (six works contracts, contractors and values)read Oct 5, 2026
- RTS: Koridor 10 – kako je savladana Grdelička klisura (12.05.2019; works began October 2013)read Oct 5, 2026
- B92 / Tanjug: Autoput kroz Grdelicu – simbol savladavanja prepreka (18.05.2019, hours before traffic opened)read Oct 5, 2026
- OpenStreetMap contributors: motorway ways with ref A1 (ODbL)read Oct 5, 2026