Skip to content
InfraWorldWide
← All projects
Highways

D6 motorway (Praha – Karlovy Vary)

Czechia's Praha – Karlovy Vary motorway, drawn from the Řepy junction with D0 to Žalmanov, with the stretch beyond it to Karlovy Vary shown only where OpenStreetMap maps it. Sections opened from 1985 (Kačice – Nové Strašecí) to 2015 (Lubenec – Bošov) and, in ŘSD stavba order, Nové Strašecí – Řevničov and the Řevničov bypass (November 2020), Lubenec (August 2021), Krupá (August 2024), Hořesedly and Hořovičky (September 2025). Petrohrad – Lubenec stage 1, Bošov – Knínice and Knínice – Žalmanov are under construction and stage 2 is due in 2028. Two sections towards Karlovy Vary are not lots because OpenStreetMap has no way for the first and maps only 2.4 km of the second: Olšová Vrata – Žalmanov (7.3 km, tender launched on 10 April 2026, estimate 3 054 million Kč excluding VAT, opening planned for 2029, leaflet of May 2026) and Olšová Vrata – Karlovy Vary (8.054 km, tender launched on 19 December 2025, one bid of 3 443.7 million Kč excluding VAT received on 16 April 2026 and no award, estimate 4 303 million Kč, opening planned for 2029, leaflet of April 2026). The Karlovy Vary through-road and the motorway west of Karlovy Vary towards Cheb are not in this file. Lots follow ŘSD stavba sections; where a leaflet exists it is the source, otherwise the cs.wikipedia section table. The route was renamed from R6 on 1 January 2016.

Total length
99 km
Open today
72 km
Under construction
27 km
Sections
16
Cost on record
€685.808M
9 of 16 sections carry a comparable figure

Restated into EUR at 2025 prices.

Loading map data…

Sections

Sections of D6 motorway (Praha – Karlovy Vary): status, length, dates, cost, funding and contractors
SectionsStatusLengthTimelineCostFundingContractorsContract terms
Praha (Řepy) – Pavlov

Dates, category R 24.5/120 and length from the cs.wikipedia section table; no ŘSD leaflet covers this section. It starts at the Řepy junction with D0 and includes the Hostivice and Jeneč junctions. The planned Jeneček cut-and-cover tunnel (462.5 m, for a new Prague airport runway) is not built and is not a lot. The section boundary is placed on the OpenStreetMap line from the neighbouring junctions and the section lengths in the table, so it can be off by a few hundred metres.

Opened10 km
  1. Mar 2005Construction start
  2. Dec 2008Opened
––––
Pavlov – Velká Dobrá

Dates, category R 24.5/100 and length from the cs.wikipedia section table; no ŘSD leaflet covers this section. The table gives the opening as 2001–2002 and the later year is recorded. It includes the Unhošť junction. The section boundary is placed on the OpenStreetMap line from the neighbouring junctions and the section lengths in the table, so it can be off by a few hundred metres.

Opened6 km
  1. 1999Construction start
  2. 2002Opened
––––
Velká Dobrá – Kamenné Žehrovice

Dates, category R 24.5/100 and length from the cs.wikipedia section table; no ŘSD leaflet covers this section. The section boundary is placed on the OpenStreetMap line from the neighbouring junctions and the section lengths in the table, so it can be off by a few hundred metres.

Opened6 km
  1. Nov 1988Construction start
  2. Oct 1994Opened
––––
Kamenné Žehrovice – Kačice

Dates, category R 24.5/100 and length from the cs.wikipedia section table; no ŘSD leaflet covers this section. The table gives 1986 here and 1985 for the next section towards Nové Strašecí; both are recorded as given. The section boundary is placed on the OpenStreetMap line from the neighbouring junctions and the section lengths in the table, so it can be off by a few hundred metres.

Opened3 km
  1. Nov 1982Construction start
  2. 1986Opened
––––
Kačice – Nové Strašecí

Dates, category R 24.5/100 and length from the cs.wikipedia section table; no ŘSD leaflet covers this section. It includes the Tuchlovice and Nové Strašecí junctions. The section boundary is placed on the OpenStreetMap line from the neighbouring junctions and the section lengths in the table, so it can be off by a few hundred metres.

Opened7 km
  1. Nov 1984Construction start
  2. 1985Opened
––––
Nové Strašecí – Řevničov

ŘSD stavba S11, a new build of category R 25.5/100. The leaflet gives the length as 5550 m (its own chainage km 32.000–37.550) and says the works were opened on 30 November 2020. The leaflet timeline puts the tender at 09/2016 and the start of works at 12/2017; the contract date is not given, so the award revision carries the start month.

Opened6 km
  1. Dec 2017Construction start
  2. Nov 30, 2020Opened
–
  • European UnionCo-financed from EU funds; the leaflet names no programme.
  • Berger BohemiaBuilder
  • PorrBuilder
  • Habau CZBuilder
  • Sudop PrahaDesigner
Contract value Kč745M
Řevničov bypass

ŘSD stavba S12, a bypass of Řevničov with the Řevničov junction (exit 38). The leaflet gives the length as 4200 m and says the main route was opened on 30 November 2020; the I/16 relocation had opened on 20 December 2019. The contract date is not given, so the award revision carries the start month.

Opened4 km
  1. Dec 2017Construction start
  2. Nov 30, 2020Opened
–
  • European UnionCo-financed from EU funds; the leaflet names no programme.
  • MetrostavBuilder
  • Eurovia CSBuilder
  • SwietelskyBuilder
Contract value Kč1.1B
Krupá relocation

ŘSD stavba S13, a new build of category D 25.5/130 with the Krupá junction (exit 43). The leaflet gives the length as 6450 m and the works as opened ceremonially on 27 August 2024; the start date is the ceremonial start of 3 March 2022. The estimate of 1 944 609 000 Kč was published before the award.

Opened6 km
  1. Feb 1, 2022Tender awarded
  2. Mar 3, 2022Construction start
  3. Aug 27, 2024Opened
  • Estimated Kč1.9BExcluding VAT ("Předpokládaná cena stavby"), price year not stated.
  • European UnionCo-financed from the Cohesion Fund under Programme Doprava 2021–2027 (OPD3).
  • Metrostav InfrastructureBuilder
  • Sudop PrahaDesigner
Contract value Kč1.5B
Hořesedly relocation

ŘSD stavba S14, category D 25.5/130, with the Kněževes junction (exit 51). The leaflet gives the length as 9200 m (its own chainage km 48.2–57.4), eight bids and the whole works as opened on 27 September 2025; the start date is the ceremonial start of 7 February 2023.

Opened9 km
  1. Jan 12, 2023Tender awarded
  2. Feb 7, 2023Construction start
  3. Sep 27, 2025Opened
  • Estimated Kč2.2BExcluding VAT ("Předpokládaná cena stavby"), price year not stated.
  • European UnionCo-financed from the Cohesion Fund under Programme Doprava 2021–2027 (OPD3).
  • EuroviaBuilder
  • Berger BohemiaBuilder
  • Stavby mostůBuilder
  • PragoprojektDesigner
Contract value Kč1.9B
Hořovičky bypass

ŘSD stavba S15, category D 25.5/130, with the Jesenice junction (exit 62). The leaflet gives the length as 5194 m (its own chainage km 57.400–62.594), seven bids and the whole works as opened on 27 September 2025; the start date is the ceremonial start of 28 March 2023. Traffic was moved onto the new road from 1 July 2024 while the old I/6 was rebuilt.

Opened5 km
  1. Feb 28, 2023Tender awarded
  2. Mar 28, 2023Construction start
  3. Sep 27, 2025Opened
  • Estimated Kč2BExcluding VAT ("Předpokládaná cena stavby"), price year not stated.
  • European UnionCo-financed from the Cohesion Fund under Programme Doprava 2021–2027 (OPD3).
  • Berger BohemiaBuilder
  • Eurovia CSBuilder
  • Stavby mostůBuilder
  • PragoprojektDesigner
Contract value Kč1.5B
Petrohrad – Lubenec, stage 2

ŘSD stavba U2a, category D 25.5/130, with the Černčice junction (exit 68) and a 620 m bridge over the Bílenecký potok. The leaflet (state of March 2026) gives the length as 9906 m, six bids, the contract of 26 June 2024 and the ceremonial start of 3 July 2024. ŘSD now gives 2028 for completion; Zdopravy.cz of 22 September 2026 reports it, citing unstable ground. The leaflet gives one contract price (3 477 584 013 Kč excluding VAT) and one estimate (4 931 243 881 Kč) for the whole Petrohrad – Lubenec stavba, both stages together, and no split, so no cost is recorded on this lot.

Under construction10 km
  1. Jun 26, 2024Tender awarded
  2. Jul 3, 2024Construction start
  3. 2028Expected opening
–
  • European UnionCo-financed from the Cohesion Fund under Programme Doprava 2021–2027 (OPD3).
  • Eurovia CZBuilder
  • Berger BohemiaBuilder
  • Stavby mostůBuilder
  • PragoprojektDesigner
  • ValbekDesigner
–
Petrohrad – Lubenec, stage 1

ŘSD stavba U2b, category D 25.5/130, continuing the Lubenec bypass past Ležky (the leaflet's chainage starts at km 72.500 and joins the finished bypass at km 74.700). It was due in December 2025 and slipped because the embankments settled more slowly than designed. On 22 September 2026 ŘSD told Zdopravy.cz it planned to open it in mid-October 2026; it is recorded as under construction until then. The leaflet gives one contract price (3 477 584 013 Kč excluding VAT) and one estimate (4 931 243 881 Kč) for the whole Petrohrad – Lubenec stavba, both stages together, and no split, so no cost is recorded on this lot.

Under construction2 km
  1. Jun 26, 2024Tender awarded
  2. Jul 3, 2024Construction start
  3. Oct 2026Expected opening
–
  • European UnionCo-financed from the Cohesion Fund under Programme Doprava 2021–2027 (OPD3).
  • Eurovia CZBuilder
  • Berger BohemiaBuilder
  • Stavby mostůBuilder
  • PragoprojektDesigner
  • ValbekDesigner
–
Lubenec bypass

ŘSD stavba U3, a new build of category R 25.5/100 with the Lubenec junction (exit 77). The leaflet gives the length as 4860 m, the ceremonial start of 1 March 2018 and the opening of 31 August 2021. The contractor is the joint venture Společnost R6 (D6), Swietelsky and Strabag. The estimate of 1 474 847 430 Kč was published before the award.

Opened5 km
  1. Jan 2018Tender awarded
  2. Mar 1, 2018Construction start
  3. Aug 31, 2021Opened
  • Estimated Kč1.5BExcluding VAT ("Předpokládaná cena stavby"), price year not stated.
–
  • SwietelskyBuilder
  • StrabagBuilder
  • Sudop PrahaDesigner
Contract value Kč1B
Lubenec – Bošov

ŘSD stavba U4, a new build of category R 25.5/100 with the Bošov junction (exit 83). The leaflet (11/2015) gives the length as 4120 m, the contract price of 1 647 780 583 Kč excluding VAT and the opening of 10 November 2015. Works began in May 2010, were suspended in August 2010 for lack of funds and resumed in September 2013. The contractor is the joint venture Sdružení Lubenec–Bošov. The leaflet gives no contract date, so the award revision carries the start month.

Opened4 km
  1. May 2010Construction start
  2. Nov 10, 2015Opened
––
  • Eurovia CSBuilder
  • Geosan groupBuilder
  • AZ SanaceBuilder
  • Sudop PrahaDesigner
Contract value Kč1.6B
Bošov – Knínice

ŘSD stavba K1 Knínice – Bošov (the leaflet calls it Knínice–Bošov), category D 25.5/130, with the Žlutice (Knínice) junction (exit 90). The leaflet gives the length as 7900 m, four bids, the contract of 14 February 2025 with the joint venture Společnost D6 Knínice – Bošov, the ceremonial start of 10 March 2025 and an expected opening in 12/2027. The estimate of 3 360 000 000 Kč was published before the award. The route runs beside the existing I/6 for the first 3 km.

Under construction8 km
  1. Feb 14, 2025Tender awarded
  2. Mar 10, 2025Construction start
  3. Dec 2027Expected opening
  • Estimated Kč3.4BExcluding VAT ("Předpokládaná cena stavby"), price year not stated.
–
  • Eurovia CZBuilder
  • Berger BohemiaBuilder
  • Stavby mostůBuilder
  • PragoprojektDesigner
Contract value Kč2.3B
Knínice – Žalmanov

ŘSD stavba K2 Žalmanov – Knínice (the leaflet calls it Žalmanov–Knínice), category D 25.5/130, with the Bochov junction (exit 96). The leaflet gives the length as 6950 m, two bids, the contract of 3 June 2025 with the joint venture Společnost D6 Žalmanov – Knínice, the ceremonial start of 24 July 2025 and an expected opening in 11/2027. It calls the work a new line, since almost the whole section runs off the existing I/6. The estimate of 3 246 000 000 Kč was published before the award.

Under construction7 km
  1. Jun 3, 2025Tender awarded
  2. Jul 24, 2025Construction start
  3. Nov 2027Expected opening
  • Estimated Kč3.2BExcluding VAT ("Předpokládaná cena stavby"), price year not stated.
–
  • Eurovia CZBuilder
  • Berger BohemiaBuilder
  • Stavby mostůBuilder
  • Sudop PrahaDesigner
Contract value Kč2.2B

Contractor roles are as recorded in the award. Only builders count toward the delivery rankings.

Funding

  • European Union43 km
    7 sections
    • Co-financed from EU funds; the leaflet names no programme.
    • Co-financed from the Cohesion Fund under Programme Doprava 2021–2027 (OPD3).

A section that lists two sources counts its full length under each: the data records which sources paid, not what share each one carried.

Related projects

Sources

  1. Wikipedia (cs): Dálnice D6, Přehled úsekůread Oct 10, 2026
  2. ŘSD: mapa staveb, dataset stavby-linestring (section codes, lengths, boundaries, status)read Oct 10, 2026
  3. ŘSD: Informační leták, D6 S11 Nové Strašecí – Řevničov (11/2020, uvedeno do provozu)read Oct 10, 2026
  4. ŘSD: Informační leták, D6 S12 Řevničov, obchvat (11/2020, uvedeno do provozu)read Oct 10, 2026
  5. ŘSD: Informační leták, D6 S13 Krupá, přeložka (08/2024, uvedeno do provozu)read Oct 10, 2026
  6. ŘSD: Informační leták, D6 S14 Hořesedly, přeložka (09/2025, uvedeno do provozu)read Oct 10, 2026
  7. ŘSD: Informační leták, D6 S15 Hořovičky, obchvat (09/2025, uvedeno do provozu)read Oct 10, 2026
  8. ŘSD: Informační leták, D6 Petrohrad – Lubenec, 2. etapa (stav k 03/2026)read Oct 10, 2026
  9. ŘSD: Informační leták, D6 Petrohrad – Lubenec, 1. etapa (stav k 03/2026)read Oct 10, 2026
  10. ŘSD: Informační leták, D6 U3 Lubenec – obchvat (08/2021, uvedeno do provozu)read Oct 10, 2026
  11. ŘSD: Informační leták, R6 Lubenec – Bošov (11/2015, uvedeno do provozu)read Oct 10, 2026
  12. ŘSD: Informační leták, D6 K1 Knínice – Bošov (aktualizace 03/2026)read Oct 10, 2026
  13. ŘSD: Informační leták, D6 K2 Žalmanov – Knínice (aktualizace 03/2026)read Oct 10, 2026
  14. ŘSD: Informační leták, D6 K3 Olšová Vrata – Žalmanov (aktualizace 05/2026)read Oct 10, 2026
  15. ŘSD: Informační leták, D6 K4 Karlovy Vary – Olšová Vrata (aktualizace 04/2026)read Oct 10, 2026
  16. Zdopravy.cz: ŘSD oznámilo termín otevření dalšího úseku dálnice D6 (22. 9. 2026)read Oct 10, 2026
  17. OpenStreetMap contributors: route geometry (ODbL)read Oct 10, 2026

Figures last checked against their sources in Oct 10, 2026.