Skip to content
InfraWorldWide
← All projects
Highways

D35 motorway (Sedlice – Olomouc – Lipník nad Bečvou)

Czech motorway between Hradec Králové and Olomouc, built in sections since the 1970s and renumbered from R35 to D35 on 1 January 2016. Sections from Sedlice to Opatovec have opened one by one since 2009 (2021–2026 for most of them), with Džbánov – Litomyšl and Litomyšl – Janov under construction; the old Mohelnice – Olomouc road (1978–1986) and the Olomouc bypass to Lipník nad Bečvou (1997–2007, stage 2 of Křelov – Slavonín in 2025) are already open. The two Opatovec – Mohelnice sections, about 35 km, are being tendered as a PPP. The sections west of Sedlice towards Hořice and Úlibice and the planned modernisation of Mohelnice – Olomouc are not recorded here. The project-level figure is the NKÚ's 2023 audit result for Opatovice – Opatovec: the cost estimate rose from 31.1 billion CZK (strategy completion year 2021) to 31.2 billion (2023) and to about 38.7 billion with completion expected in 2027, six years after the original date.

Total length
171 km
Open today
118 km
Under construction
19 km
Sections
23
Cost on record
€1.1B
10 of 23 sections carry a comparable figure

Restated into EUR at 2025 prices.

Cost for the project as a whole
Kč38.7Bwhole programmeestimatedNKÚ audit 22/08 (13 November 2023): ŘSD's current estimate for the Opatovice – Opatovec stretch, about 38.7 billion CZK, against 31.1 and 31.2 billion in earlier strategies. VAT basis and price year not stated.
Loading map data…

Sections

Sections of D35 motorway (Sedlice – Olomouc – Lipník nad Bečvou): status, length, dates, cost, funding and contractors
SectionsStatusLengthTimelineCostFundingContractorsContract terms
Sedlice – Opatovice nad Labem (R35)

Built as the expressway R35 and renumbered D35 on 1 January 2016. The leaflet gives a main-route length of 4190 m and records the ceremonial opening on 27 November 2009. Skanska DS built stage I; Skanska DS and Metrostav built stage II. cs Wikipedia lists the Opatovice viaduct as completed in advance in 12/2015.

Opened4 km
  1. Nov 2006Construction start
  2. Nov 27, 2009Opened
–
  • National budget
  • Skanska DSBuilder
  • MetrostavBuilder
Contract value Kč1.4B
Opatovice nad Labem – Časy

Includes the 1047 m viaduct over the Elbe floodplain at Opatovice nad Labem and the Rokytno and Časy junctions. Total length of the 17 bridges on the motorway: 2090 m.

Opened13 km
  1. Jan 31, 2019Tender awarded
  2. Mar 14, 2019Construction start
  3. Dec 15, 2021Opened
–
  • European UnionCo-financed from EU funds, as stated in the ŘSD leaflet. The programme and the amount are not stated.
  • StrabagBuilder
  • M-SilniceBuilder
  • SMP CZBuilder
  • Sdružení CPP 2012 (Pragoprojekt, Pudis, AF-CityPlan)Designer
Contract value Kč3.4B
Časy – Ostrov

Includes the Dašice and Ostrov junctions and the Dolní Roveň rest area. The leaflet states the contract price without VAT but not the signing date, so no award revision is recorded. The end of the section is a provisional connection to I/17 beyond the Ostrov junction.

Opened15 km
  1. Dec 4, 2018Construction start
  2. Dec 22, 2022Opened
–
  • European UnionCo-financed from EU funds, as stated in the ŘSD leaflet. The programme and the amount are not stated.
  • EuroviaBuilder
  • MetrostavBuilder
  • SwietelskyBuilder
Contract value Kč3.2B
Ostrov – Vysoké Mýto

The 6.2 km section without the Homole tunnel, which is recorded as its own lot. The leaflet gives 7000 m including the 0.8 km tunnel. ŘSD opened it on 21 August 2026 (České dálnice, same day); the ŘSD news item is dated 24 August 2026.

Opened6 km
  1. Feb 15, 2024Tender awarded
  2. May 6, 2024Construction start
  3. Aug 21, 2026Opened
  • Estimated Kč2BExcluding VAT. Leaflet figure 'Předpokládaná cena stavby'; price year not stated.
  • European UnionCo-financed from the Cohesion Fund under Programme Doprava 2021–2027 (OPD3), as stated in the ŘSD leaflet. No contribution amount is published.
  • EuroviaBuilder
  • M-SilniceBuilder
Contract value Kč1.4B
Homole tunnel

Two one-way tubes of 525 m (180 m cut-and-cover, 345 m mined) and 569 m (120 m cut-and-cover, 449 m mined); with the adjoining works the stavba is 795 m. profile.tunnelKm is the longer tube. Both tubes pass under I/17. Harder rock than the survey indicated delayed driving, and the leaflet gives opening at the end of June 2027. Built as a separate contract so that the rest of the section could open earlier. Not included in the 6.2 km of the Ostrov – Vysoké Mýto lot.

Under construction0.8 km
  1. Apr 9, 2024Tender awarded
  2. May 6, 2024Construction start
  3. Jun 2027Expected opening
  • Estimated Kč2.5BExcluding VAT. Leaflet figure 'Předpokládaná cena stavby'; price year not stated.
  • European UnionCo-financed from the Cohesion Fund under Programme Doprava 2021–2027 (OPD3), as stated in the ŘSD leaflet. No contribution amount is published.
  • Eurovia CZBuilder
  • TuConBuilder
  • Eurovia SKBuilder
Contract value Kč1.8B
Vysoké Mýto – Džbánov

Runs from the Vysoké Mýto-západ junction (km 39.250) to the Džbánov junction (km 44.440) and bypasses Vysoké Mýto to the west and south. The leaflet gives 5950 m.

Opened6 km
  1. Jul 13, 2023Tender awarded
  2. Nov 16, 2023Construction start
  3. Dec 16, 2025Opened
  • Estimated Kč2.5BExcluding VAT. Leaflet figure 'Předpokládaná cena stavby'; price year not stated.
  • European UnionCo-financed from the Cohesion Fund under Programme Doprava 2021–2027 (OPD3), as stated in the ŘSD leaflet. No contribution amount is published.
  • Eurovia CSBuilder
  • M-SilniceBuilder
  • Stavby mostůBuilder
Contract value Kč1.8B
Džbánov – Litomyšl

Includes the Řídký junction (km 51.540), the 317 m bridge over I/35 and the Choceň–Litomyšl railway and the 419 m Končinský potok valley bridge. The dalnice-d35.cz site gives 2027 as the opening year; the director general of ŘSD said in August 2026 that ŘSD would like to open it in 2026. The leaflet gives 7589 m.

Under construction8 km
  1. Mar 4, 2024Tender awarded
  2. Apr 8, 2024Construction start
  3. 2027Expected opening
  • Estimated Kč4.5BExcluding VAT. Leaflet figure 'Předpokládaná cena stavby'; price year not stated.
  • European UnionCo-financed from the Cohesion Fund under Programme Doprava 2021–2027 (OPD3), as stated in the ŘSD leaflet. No contribution amount is published.
  • BudimexBuilder
Contract value Kč3.4B
Litomyšl – Janov

Ends about 70 m beyond the Janov delta junction. The dalnice-d35.cz site gives 2027 as the opening year. The leaflet gives 10 440 m.

Under construction10 km
  1. Jan 8, 2025Tender awarded
  2. Feb 10, 2025Construction start
  3. 2027Expected opening
  • Estimated Kč4.4BExcluding VAT. Leaflet figure 'Předpokládaná cena stavby'; price year not stated.
  • European UnionCo-financed from the Cohesion Fund under Programme Doprava 2021–2027 (OPD3), as stated in the ŘSD leaflet. No contribution amount is published.
  • StrabagBuilder
  • Firesta–FišerBuilder
Contract value Kč2.8B
Janov – Opatovec

Runs beside the existing I/35 and ends beyond the Opatovec junction with I/35 and I/43. The planned Mikuleč junction was not built. A new railway bridge over the Česká Třebová – Brno line at km 73.9 was built in advance under a separate contract and is not part of the contract value recorded here. The leaflet gives 11 713 m.

Opened12 km
  1. Apr 19, 2023Tender awarded
  2. May 5, 2023Construction start
  3. Dec 18, 2025Opened
  • Estimated Kč3.5BExcluding VAT. Leaflet figure 'Předpokládaná cena stavby'; price year not stated.
  • European UnionCo-financed from the Cohesion Fund under Programme Doprava 2021–2027 (OPD3), as stated in the ŘSD leaflet. No contribution amount is published.
  • MI RoadsBuilder
  • DoprastavBuilder
Contract value Kč2.5B
Opatovec – Staré Město (PPP)

Includes the 3983 m Dětřichov tunnel and a 2390 m feeder to I/35 at Staré Město. The leaflet (state as of 03/2026) expects the concession contract to be signed in the second half of 2026; the dalnice-d35.cz site gives construction as planned for 2026–2031. The two PPP sections (this one and Staré Město – Mohelnice) are about 35 km together.

Tendered17 km
  1. Aug 2022Announced
  • Estimated Kč17.7BExcluding VAT. Leaflet 'Předpokládaná cena stavby' including the I/35 Staré Město connection to D35; price year not stated.
  • Public-private partnershipPlanned as a public–private partnership with a concessionaire, together with the adjoining section. Added to the government PPP project in August 2022.
––
Staré Město – Mohelnice (PPP)

The leaflet gives 18 230 m, of which 1330 m is reconstruction of the existing D35. Includes the 1313 m Maletín tunnel and the Maletín, Mohelnice-sever and Mohelnice-jih junctions. Ends where the 1978–1986 Mohelnice – Olomouc road begins.

Tendered18 km
  1. Aug 2022Announced
  • Estimated Kč15.9BExcluding VAT. Leaflet figure 'Předpokládaná cena stavby'; price year not stated.
  • Public-private partnershipPlanned as a public–private partnership with a concessionaire, together with the adjoining section. Added to the government PPP project in August 2022.
––
Mohelnice – Loštice (Řimice bypass)

One of the seven sections of the old Mohelnice – Olomouc road (category S 22.5/100), opened in 1979. Length and opening year are from the cs Wikipedia table; no ŘSD leaflet covers these sections individually. Opening dates are given by year only.

Opened5 km
  1. 1979Opened
–
  • National budget
––
Řimice – Mladeč

One of the seven sections of the old Mohelnice – Olomouc road (category S 22.5/100), opened in 1983. Length and opening year are from the cs Wikipedia table; no ŘSD leaflet covers these sections individually. Opening dates are given by year only.

Opened5 km
  1. 1983Opened
–
  • National budget
––
Mladeč – Nasobůrky

One of the seven sections of the old Mohelnice – Olomouc road (category S 22.5/100), opened in 1986. Length and opening year are from the cs Wikipedia table; no ŘSD leaflet covers these sections individually. Opening dates are given by year only.

Opened3 km
  1. 1986Opened
–
  • National budget
––
Nasobůrky – Unčovice

One of the seven sections of the old Mohelnice – Olomouc road (category S 22.5/100), opened in 1978. Length and opening year are from the cs Wikipedia table; no ŘSD leaflet covers these sections individually. Opening dates are given by year only.

Opened5 km
  1. 1978Opened
–
  • National budget
––
Unčovice – Příkazy

One of the seven sections of the old Mohelnice – Olomouc road (category S 22.5/100), opened in 1984. Length and opening year are from the cs Wikipedia table; no ŘSD leaflet covers these sections individually. Opening dates are given by year only.

Opened3 km
  1. 1984Opened
–
  • National budget
––
Příkazy bypass

One of the seven sections of the old Mohelnice – Olomouc road (category S 22.5/100), opened in 1985. Length and opening year are from the cs Wikipedia table; no ŘSD leaflet covers these sections individually. Opening dates are given by year only.

Opened3 km
  1. 1985Opened
–
  • National budget
––
Příkazy – Křelov

One of the seven sections of the old Mohelnice – Olomouc road (category S 22.5/100), opened in 1978. Length and opening year are from the cs Wikipedia table; no ŘSD leaflet covers these sections individually. Opening dates are given by year only.

Opened3 km
  1. 1978Opened
–
  • National budget
––
Křelov – Slavonín, stage 2

Closes the gap in the western Olomouc bypass between the old Mohelnice – Olomouc road and stage 1. Until it opened, traffic went through the Severní spoj link. Includes the Křelov junction. The leaflet gives 3166 m. The ŘSD site lists the section at 3.2 km.

Opened3 km
  1. Feb 16, 2024Tender awarded
  2. Feb 27, 2024Construction start
  3. Nov 20, 2025Opened
  • Estimated Kč1.2BExcluding VAT. Leaflet figure 'Předpokládaná cena stavby'; price year not stated.
  • European UnionCo-financed from the Connecting Europe Facility (CEF), as stated in the ŘSD leaflet. No contribution amount is published.
  • Eurovia CSBuilder
  • M-SilniceBuilder
Contract value Kč838M
Křelov – Slavonín, stage 1

Length, start and opening dates (month and year) are from the cs Wikipedia table of D35 sections; no ŘSD leaflet for this section was read.

Opened3 km
  1. Oct 2004Construction start
  2. Nov 2007Opened
–
  • National budget
––
Slavonín – Přáslavice (Olomouc bypass)

Length, start and opening dates (month and year) are from the cs Wikipedia table of D35 sections; no ŘSD leaflet for this section was read.

Opened15 km
  1. Nov 1999Construction start
  2. Oct 2003Opened
–
  • National budget
––
Přáslavice – Velký Újezd

Length, start and opening dates (month and year) are from the cs Wikipedia table of D35 sections; no ŘSD leaflet for this section was read.

Opened8 km
  1. Dec 1993Construction start
  2. Oct 1997Opened
–
  • National budget
––
Velký Újezd – Lipník nad Bečvou (D1)

Length, start and opening dates (month and year) are from the cs Wikipedia table of D35 sections; no ŘSD leaflet for this section was read. The drawn OSM line from the Velký Újezd junction to where the D35 tagging ends at the D1 is 5.6 km, shorter than the recorded length.

Opened7 km
  1. Oct 1996Construction start
  2. Jul 1999Opened
–
  • National budget
––

Contractor roles are as recorded in the award. Only builders count toward the delivery rankings.

Funding

  • European Union73 km
    9 sections
    • Co-financed from EU funds, as stated in the ŘSD leaflet. The programme and the amount are not stated.
    • Co-financed from the Cohesion Fund under Programme Doprava 2021–2027 (OPD3), as stated in the ŘSD leaflet. No contribution amount is published.
    • Co-financed from the Connecting Europe Facility (CEF), as stated in the ŘSD leaflet. No contribution amount is published.
  • National budget63 km
    12 sections
  • Public-private partnership35 km
    2 sections
    • Planned as a public–private partnership with a concessionaire, together with the adjoining section. Added to the government PPP project in August 2022.

A section that lists two sources counts its full length under each: the data records which sources paid, not what share each one carried.

Related projects

Sources

  1. ŘSD infoleták: R35 Sedlice–Opatoviceread Oct 5, 2026
  2. ŘSD infoleták: D35 Opatovice nad Labem–Časy (12/2021)read Oct 5, 2026
  3. ŘSD infoleták: D35 Časy–Ostrovread Oct 5, 2026
  4. ŘSD infoleták: D35 Ostrov–Vysoké Mýto (stav k 03/2026)read Oct 5, 2026
  5. ŘSD infoleták: D35 Ostrov–Vysoké Mýto, tunel Homole (stav k 03/2026)read Oct 5, 2026
  6. ŘSD infoleták: D35 Vysoké Mýto–Džbánov (12/2025)read Oct 5, 2026
  7. ŘSD infoleták: D35 Džbánov–Litomyšl (stav k 03/2026)read Oct 5, 2026
  8. ŘSD infoleták: D35 Litomyšl–Janov (stav k 03/2026)read Oct 5, 2026
  9. ŘSD infoleták: D35 Janov–Opatovec (12/2025)read Oct 5, 2026
  10. ŘSD infoleták: D35 Opatovec–Staré Město (stav k 03/2026)read Oct 5, 2026
  11. ŘSD infoleták: D35 Staré Město–Mohelnice (stav k 03/2026)read Oct 5, 2026
  12. ŘSD infoleták: D35 Křelov–Slavonín, 2. etapa, stavba 3508.2 (11/2025)read Oct 5, 2026
  13. Dálnice D35: Úseky dálnice a novinky (ŘSD)read Oct 5, 2026
  14. ŘSD otevřelo další úsek D35 mezi Ostrovem a Vysokým Mýtem (24. 8. 2026)read Oct 5, 2026
  15. České dálnice: ŘSD otevřelo nový úsek D35 u Vysokého Mýta (21. 8. 2026)read Oct 5, 2026
  16. NKÚ: Výstavba dvě stě deset kilometrů dlouhé dálnice D35 se zpožďuje a prodražuje (KA 22/08, 13. 11. 2023)read Oct 5, 2026
  17. Wikipedie (cs): Dálnice D35read Oct 5, 2026
  18. OpenStreetMap contributors: D35 motorway (ODbL)read Oct 5, 2026

Figures last checked against their sources in Oct 5, 2026.