Skip to content
InfraWorldWide
← All projects
Railways

Praha – Benešov – Tábor – České Budějovice railway (4th transit corridor, lines 221/220)

Modernisation of the Praha – České Budějovice main line (221 to Benešov, 220 beyond), part of the IV. transit corridor run by Správa železnic (SŽDC until 2020). One lot per construction project from Praha-Vršovice to České Budějovice, drawn from OpenStreetMap. Most lots rebuild the existing double-track line; Votice – Sudoměřice and Doubí – Soběslav are new alignments, and Nemanice I – Ševětín is a planned relocation whose tender was cancelled in January 2026. Dates in the section table are years only. Contract prices were found for one lot; the cost shown elsewhere is the total project cost in the source.

Total length
157 km
Open today
139 km
Sections
14
Cost on record
€898.555M
2 of 14 sections carry a comparable figure

Restated into EUR at 2025 prices.

Loading map data…

Sections

Sections of Praha – Benešov – Tábor – České Budějovice railway (4th transit corridor, lines 221/220): status, length, dates, cost, funding and contractors
SectionsStatusLengthTimelineCostFundingContractorsContract terms
Praha hl. n. – Praha-Hostivař (Vršovice rebuild, four tracks)

Upgrade of the existing line between the Vinohrady tunnels and Praha-Hostivař: the line was straightened over the former Vršovice marshalling yard and made four-track, with new Praha-Eden and Praha-Zahradní Město stops (Zahradní Město opened on 24 September 2021). Správa železnic's 2018 release gave completion as 10/2021; cs.wikipedia's section table gives 2021 for commissioning, so only the year is recorded. The signing date is from cs.wikipedia. The 6.7 km extent is as stated there; the drawn line starts at Praha-Vršovice station. The Hostivař station rebuild (2.2 km, 2014–2016) and the Vinohrady tunnels (planned 2028–2029) are not part of this lot.

Opened7 km
  1. Mar 13, 2018Tender awarded
  2. Jun 2018Construction start
  3. 2021Opened
  • Estimated Kč4.4BExcluding VAT. Správa železnic figure for the whole project ("Celkové náklady stavby 4 419 960 000 Kč bez DPH"); price year not stated.
  • European UnionConnecting Europe Facility: 82.14% of eligible costs, up to EUR 110.3 million (about CZK 3 billion)
  • National budgetNational funding from the State Fund for Transport Infrastructure
  • Metrostav a.s.Builder
  • Swietelsky Rail CZBuilder
  • SMP CZBuilder
  • SUDOP PRAHA a.s.Designer
–
Praha-Hostivař – Strančice

Upgrade of the existing double-track line: the first section of the corridor rebuild, started in September 2005 behind Praha-Hostivař and finished in 2008. Track, sleepers and bed were replaced, with noise walls along the line. No contractor or contract price was found.

Opened18 km
  1. Sep 2005Construction start
  2. 2008Opened
––––
Strančice – Benešov u Prahy

Upgrade of the existing double-track line ("Optimalizace tratě Benešov – Strančice"). The table gives construction 2007–2010, while another passage of the same article says the reconstruction beyond Strančice ran from 2008. No contractor or contract price was found.

Opened24 km
  1. 2007Construction start
  2. 2010Opened
––––
Benešov u Prahy – Votice

Double-tracking and partial relocation of the existing line for 160 km/h, with five new tunnels (Votice 590 m, Olbramovice 480 m, Zahradnický 1044 m, Tomice I 324 m and Tomice II 252 m, 2.69 km in all). The section table gives construction from 2009 (another passage gives 15 March 2010), construction complete in 2012 and the whole project complete by the end of 2013, which is the year recorded as opening. No contractor or contract price was found.

Opened19 km
  1. 2009Construction start
  2. 2013Opened
––––
Votice – Sudoměřice u Tábora (new line with two tunnels)

New double-track alignment, almost entirely off the old single track and about 2 km shorter, with the Mezno (840 m) and Deboreč (660 m) tunnels, four viaducts and the new Červený Újezd u Votic station. The June 2018 release gives the project extent as 19.9 km; cs.wikipedia gives the new alignment as 17 km, which is recorded. Works began on 1 May 2018 (the release planned 03/2018–08/2021; the leaflet gives 05/2018–12/2023) and the speed target was raised from 160 to 200 km/h in late 2019. The old line closed on 2 April 2022; the new line opened on one track on 1 July 2022 and on both tracks on 1 September 2022. 200 km/h has been allowed since 31 August 2025. The cost is the total investment cost; the OHL ŽS contract price is not recorded (cs.wikipedia reports its bid as CZK 4.378 bn).

Opened17 km
  1. May 1, 2018Construction start
  2. Sep 1, 2022Opened
  • Estimated Kč6.7BExcluding VAT. Total cost in the Správa železnic leaflet of May 2023 ("náklady stavby: 6 734 886 294 Kč (bez DPH)"); price year not stated.
  • European UnionCohesion Fund, Operational Programme Transport 2014–2020: contribution of up to CZK 5 151 794 403 in the 2018 release and the 2023 leaflet (the English release gives up to CZK 3 966 814 703)
  • National budgetNational funding from the State Fund for Transport Infrastructure
  • OHL ŽSBuilder
–
Sudoměřice u Tábora – Tábor

Double-tracking and partial relocation of the single-track line, with a 444 m double-track tunnel, the first in South Bohemia, and an eight-span viaduct 455 m long. The start (3/2013) and the 2 June 2016 completion release (stated completion 7/2016) are from Správa železnic; the release speaks of 12 km and the section table of 11.4 km, which is recorded. cs.wikipedia gives "stavebně 2015, kompletně 2016" for commissioning. Cost is the total estimated investment cost; the contract price is not recorded.

Opened11 km
  1. Mar 2013Construction start
  2. Jun 2, 2016Opened
  • Estimated Kč1.9BExcluding VAT. "Total estimated investment costs ... up to 1,930,574,616 CZK (VAT excluded)" in the completion release; price year not stated.
  • European UnionCohesion Fund, Operational Programme Transport: up to CZK 1 203 248 440
  • National budgetNational funding from the State Fund for Transport Infrastructure
  • OHL ŽS, a.s.Builder
–
Tábor – Doubí u Tábora

Double-tracking of the existing line, with 110 km/h for ordinary trains and 160 km/h for tilting trains, and a new Tábor-Čápův Dvůr stop. One passage describes the section as a two-year reconstruction completed on 15 September 2009, the table gives 2006 as the start, so only the year is recorded. No contractor or contract price was found.

Opened12 km
  1. 2006Construction start
  2. Sep 15, 2009Opened
––––
Doubí u Tábora – Soběslav (new line)

New 8.8 km double-track relocation on a new alignment, partly alongside the D3 motorway, replacing the single-track line through Roudná (the route is 765 m shorter). It has the 370 m Zvěrotický tunnel, viaducts of 830 m and 263 m and two new stops, Myslkovice and Doubí u Tábora. The leaflet gives works as 09/2019–04/2023; the old line closed on 2 September 2022. The design speed was raised from 160 to 200 km/h in 2020; 200 km/h has been allowed since 31 August 2025. The 4.8 bn cost is a press figure, not a contract price. The drawn length is 7.8 km against the 8.8 km stated.

Opened9 km
  1. Sep 2019Construction start
  2. Sep 11, 2022Opened
  • Estimated Kč4.8BestimatedPress figure ("4,8 miliardy korun") as quoted by cs.wikipedia; VAT basis and price year not stated.
  • European UnionOperational Programme Transport: up to 82.84% of eligible costs
  • National budgetNational funding from the State Fund for Transport Infrastructure
  • Společnost Soběslav – Doubí (Strabag Rail, Eurovia CS, Metrostav)Builder
  • METROPROJEKT Praha a.s.Designer
–
Soběslav – Veselí nad Lužnicí

Part of the Veselí nad Lužnicí – Doubí u Tábora modernisation (first stage, Veselí – Soběslav). Dates are years only, from the section table. The drawn length is 6.9 km against the 5.9 km stated. No contractor or contract price was found.

Opened6 km
  1. 2014Construction start
  2. 2016Opened
––––
Veselí nad Lužnicí – Horusice

Upgrade of the existing line. Dates are years only, from the section table. No contractor or contract price was found.

Opened5 km
  1. 2013Construction start
  2. 2016Opened
––––
Horusice – Dynín

Upgrade of the existing line (the Ševětín – Horusice project in the section table). Dates are years only. The table ends the section partway through Dynín station, so the drawn line, which runs to the station, is 3.8 km against 4.4 km. No contractor or contract price was found.

Opened4 km
  1. 2014Construction start
  2. 2016Opened
––––
Dynín – Ševětín

Track and station rebuild on the existing double-track line, with Dynín station reworked and the Neplachov stop moved ("Modernizace trati Nemanice I – Ševětín, 1. stavba, úpravy pro ETCS, 2. část"). The construction project runs from km 25.000, 2.8 km beyond Ševětín station, to km 29.303 at the end of the modernised Dynín – Horusice section: 4.3 km on koridory.cz, 4.0 km in the cs.wikipedia section table. The drawn line runs from Dynín station (km 29.0) to km 25.0, so Ševětín station to km 25.0 is not part of this lot (the planned Nemanice I – Ševětín project ends at km 25.0). Main works began in July 2018; the table gives completion in 01/2020. The contract value is from koridory.cz ("Podle smlouvy dosáhnou náklady stavby 597 486 627 Kč").

Opened4 km
  1. Feb 2018Tender awarded
  2. Jul 2018Construction start
  3. Jan 2020Opened
––
  • Společnost Nemanice – Ševětín – EŽ+AŽD+SubterraBuilder
Contract value Kč597.49M
Nemanice I – Ševětín (new line with two tunnels)

Planned double-track relocation on a new alignment, designed for 200 km/h with the Hosín (3 120 m) and Chotýčany (4 806 m) tunnels, the longest on the Czech network. The May 2024 leaflet gives almost 18 km, planned works 02/2026–12/2032 and no contractor selected; cs.wikipedia gives 21.5 km including stations and now plans 2028–2034. A PPP was planned in 2023 and dropped in 2025. The leaflet gives the official end of the project at km 25.0, beyond Ševětín station, where the Dynín – Ševětín lot begins. The drawn line follows only the OpenStreetMap proposed alignment, 12.3 km of the route; the stretches at both ends that join the existing stations are not drawn, so the drawn length is short of the stated 18 km. The existing single track between the two stations is not modelled as a lot.

Planned18 km–
  • Estimated Kč21.3B(2025)works onlyestimatedHighest permissible tender price of the March 2025 procurement ("21,3 mld. Kč"), as reported by cs.wikipedia; a cap, not an award, and the tender was cancelled in January 2026. VAT basis not stated.
–––
Nemanice I – České Budějovice

Upgrade of the existing line into České Budějovice ("Modernizace trati České Budějovice – Nemanice I"). Built from February 2011 and completed in 2014. No contractor or contract price was found.

Opened3 km
  1. Feb 2011Construction start
  2. 2014Opened
––––

Contractor roles are as recorded in the award. Only builders count toward the delivery rankings.

Funding

  • European Union44 km
    4 sections
    • Connecting Europe Facility: 82.14% of eligible costs, up to EUR 110.3 million (about CZK 3 billion)
    • Cohesion Fund, Operational Programme Transport 2014–2020: contribution of up to CZK 5 151 794 403 in the 2018 release and the 2023 leaflet (the English release gives up to CZK 3 966 814 703)
    • Cohesion Fund, Operational Programme Transport: up to CZK 1 203 248 440
    • Operational Programme Transport: up to 82.84% of eligible costs
  • National budget44 km
    4 sections
    • National funding from the State Fund for Transport Infrastructure

A section that lists two sources counts its full length under each: the data records which sources paid, not what share each one carried.

Related projects

Sources

  1. cs.wikipedia: IV. tranzitní železniční koridor (section table and construction history)read Oct 10, 2026
  2. cs.wikipedia: Železniční trať Praha – České Budějovice (Modernizace IV. tranzitního koridoru)read Oct 10, 2026
  3. cs.wikipedia: Přeložka Soběslav – Doubí u Táboraread Oct 10, 2026
  4. koridory.cz: V červenci začne modernizace trati ze Ševětína do Dynína (17 June 2018)read Oct 10, 2026
  5. koridory.cz: Stav příprav staveb čtvrtého koridoru – leden 2018 (Ševětín – Dynín, km 25,000–29,303)read Oct 10, 2026
  6. Správa železniční dopravní cesty: V Praze vzniknou dvě nová nádraží – Eden a Zahradní Město (15 August 2018)read Oct 10, 2026
  7. Správa železniční dopravní cesty: Cesta vlakem z Prahy do Tábora se zkrátí na hodinu (5 June 2018)read Oct 10, 2026
  8. Správa železnic: Modernizace trati Sudoměřice – Votice (leaflet S-10, updated 25 May 2023)read Oct 10, 2026
  9. Správa železnic: Trains return to the line between Sudoměřice and Votice, modernisation of the section nearly finishedread Oct 10, 2026
  10. Správa železniční dopravní cesty: Completed modernisation of the line near Tábor brought the first railway tunnel to South Bohemia (2 June 2016)read Oct 10, 2026
  11. Správa železnic: Modernizace trati Veselí n.L. – Tábor – II. část, 2. etapa Soběslav – Doubí (leaflet C-03, updated 27 July 2021)read Oct 10, 2026
  12. Správa železnic: Modernizace trati Nemanice I – Ševětín (leaflet C-01, updated 16 May 2024)read Oct 10, 2026
  13. OpenStreetMap: railway relations 48883 (221 Praha – Benešov) and 48888 (220 Benešov – České Budějovice) and proposed ways 565072199–565072203 (geometry, ODbL)read Oct 10, 2026
  14. OpenStreetMap contributors: route geometry (ODbL)read Oct 10, 2026