Skip to content
InfraWorldWide
← All projects
Highways

A1 motorway (Rusocin – Toruń – Łódź – Częstochowa – Gliwice – Gorzyczki)

Poland's north–south motorway from Rusocin near Gdańsk to the Czech border at Gorzyczki, where it meets the D1. Sections opened from 2007 (Rusocin – Swarożyn) to 2023 (Piotrków Trybunalski – Częstochowa). Rusocin – Nowe Marzy (90 km) was built and is run under a concession by Gdańsk Transport Company S.A. (AmberOne), the operator rather than a builder. Lots follow GDDKiA contract sections and opening dates, cut at mapped junctions; the Tuszyn – Pyrzowice works are listed by their lettered sections A to I. Contract values come from the GDDKiA monthly contract table and include VAT. Where a source section length differs from the drawn centreline, the sourced length is kept and the lot note says so.

Total length
561 km
Open today
561 km
Sections
25
Cost on record
€1.8B
9 of 25 sections carry a comparable figure

Restated into EUR at 2025 prices.

Loading map data…

Sections

Sections of A1 motorway (Rusocin – Toruń – Łódź – Częstochowa – Gliwice – Gorzyczki): status, length, dates, cost, funding and contractors
SectionsStatusLengthTimelineCostFundingContractorsContract terms
Rusocin – Swarożyn

Concession stretch, opened first. Length (25 km) and the August 2004 concession agreement from the GDDKiA release of 18 October 2008; construction start by the concessionaire from plwiki. Four lanes with room for a third. Drawn centreline includes about 1 km before Rusocin junction.

Opened25 km
  1. Aug 2004Tender awarded
  2. Jul 29, 2005Construction start
  3. Dec 22, 2007Opened
––
  • Gdańsk Transport Company S.A. (AmberOne)Concessionaire
–
Swarożyn – Nowe Marzy

Concession stretch (GTC S.A., now branded AmberOne). The GDDKiA release gives 65 km and an opening on 17 October 2008, before the contractual date; together with Rusocin – Swarożyn the concession section is 90 km. Construction began on the whole Rusocin – Nowe Marzy stretch on 29 July 2005.

Opened65 km
  1. Aug 2004Tender awarded
  2. Jul 29, 2005Construction start
  3. Oct 17, 2008Opened
––
  • Gdańsk Transport Company S.A. (AmberOne)Concessionaire
–
Nowe Marzy – Toruń Południe

Opened as Grudziądz – Toruń Południe (62 km) with the west carriageway of the Armii Krajowej bridge at Toruń and the bridge at Grudziądz. Originally part of the GTC concession; the minister annulled it in January 2007, GTC won in court and negotiations resumed in January 2008. Construction started on 24 August 2008, together with a 10.7 km upgrade of the S10. Length from the plwiki section table (62.42 km in the design contract). The junction called Toruń Południe in this table is numbered 12 and named Czerniewice by GDDKiA.

Opened62 km
  1. Oct 14, 2011Opened
––––
Toruń Południe – Włocławek Zachód

Opened on 21 December 2013 as Czerniewice – Włocławek Zachód, 45 km (plwiki gives 44 km), with a conditional use permit; local and service roads and rest areas were not yet open. GDDKiA describes the opened stretch as its first two sections plus part of the third. The original contract (17 June 2010, consortia of PBG SA and SRB Civil Engineering Limited, Toruń Południe – Kowal, 64 km, in two stages) was replaced: on 3 April 2013 GDDKiA signed new contracts with a consortium of Salini, Impregilo and Przedsiębiorstwo Budowy Dróg i Mostów KOBYLARNIA S.A. The sources give no termination date for the original contract and do not split the 2013 contracts between this lot and Włocławek Zachód – Kowal, so the three 2013 contractors are listed on both. GDDKiA gives the 2013 contract values as about 450 million PLN gross for sections I and II and about 608 million PLN gross for section III; they are not split by lot here.

Opened45 km
  1. Apr 3, 2013Tender awarded
  2. Dec 21, 2013Opened
––
  • SaliniBuilder
  • ImpregiloBuilder
  • Przedsiębiorstwo Budowy Dróg i Mostów KOBYLARNIA S.A.Builder
–
Włocławek Zachód – Kowal

Opened on 30 April 2014 (19.5 km in the plwiki text, 19 km in its table and on the GDDKiA page); from then the A1 is continuous from Łódź to Gdańsk. The original contract (17 June 2010, consortia of PBG SA and SRB Civil Engineering Limited, Toruń Południe – Kowal, 64 km) was replaced: on 3 April 2013 GDDKiA signed new contracts with a consortium of Salini, Impregilo and Przedsiębiorstwo Budowy Dróg i Mostów KOBYLARNIA S.A. The sources give no termination date for the original contract and do not split the 2013 contracts between this lot and Toruń Południe – Włocławek Zachód, so the three 2013 contractors are listed on both; the section III value (about 608 million PLN gross, Brzezie – Kowal) is not allocated to this lot.

Opened20 km
  1. Apr 3, 2013Tender awarded
  2. Apr 30, 2014Opened
––
  • SaliniBuilder
  • ImpregiloBuilder
  • Przedsiębiorstwo Budowy Dróg i Mostów KOBYLARNIA S.A.Builder
–
Kowal – Łódź Północ

Opened on 13 November 2012 as four sub-sections: Kowal – Kutno Północ (29.8 km), Kutno Północ – Kutno Wschód (15.2 km), Kutno Wschód – Piątek (9 km) and Piątek – Łódź Północ (21 km); the length is their sum. Drawn centreline is 2.4% longer than the summed figure.

Opened75 km
  1. Nov 13, 2012Opened
––––
Łódź Północ – Tuszyn

Stryków – Tuszyn, chainage km 295+850 to 335+937.65 (40.09 km, from the GDDKiA contract table). The first contract (Polimex Mostostal, signed 22 December 2010, about 1,150 million PLN, VAT basis not stated: plwiki gives the 1.15 billion PLN offer and 1.16 billion PLN in its table) was dropped in 2014; three completion contracts followed (tasks I, II and III), with Strabag and Budimex on tasks I and III and Duna Polska SA on task II per the GDDKiA contract table. Opened 1 July 2016, about 22 months after the new contracts.

Opened40 km
  1. Dec 22, 2010Tender awarded
  2. Apr 2013Construction start
  3. Jul 1, 2016Opened
––
  • Polimex MostostalBuilder
  • Strabag sp. z o.o.Builder
  • Budimex SABuilder
  • Duna Polska SABuilder
–
Tuszyn – Piotrków Trybunalski Południe

Section A of the Tuszyn – Pyrzowice works (chainage km 335+937.65 to 351+800, called Tuszyn – Bełchatów in the GDDKiA table; the junction is now Piotrków Trybunalski Południe). The road was first opened on 18 December 1989; plwiki records construction 1978–1989. It was rebuilt in 2019–2021 (plwiki table) and the rebuilt carriageways opened on 24 June 2022, so the 1989 opening date is kept and no km is added. Contract signed 30 July 2018 with Budimex SA and Strabag sp. z o.o.; the table value includes VAT.

Opened16 km
  1. Dec 18, 1989Opened
––
  • Budimex SABuilder
  • Strabag sp. z o.o.Builder
Contract value zł478.87M
Piotrków Trybunalski Południe – Kamieńsk

Section B (chainage km 351+800 to 376+000, Bełchatów – Kamieńsk in the GDDKiA table). Opened to traffic on 24 November 2022 while final road marking and clean-up continued; plwiki gives April 2023 for the whole investment (completion 20 April 2023, ceremony 12 May). Contract with Mirbud SA signed 18 April 2019; the table value includes VAT. Drawn centreline is 5% longer than the sourced length.

Opened24 km
  1. Apr 18, 2019Tender awarded
  2. Nov 24, 2022Opened
––
  • Mirbud SABuilder
Contract value zł857M
Kamieńsk – Radomsko

Section C (chainage km 376+000 to 392+720). Opened to traffic on 24 June 2022 on a passability basis; plwiki's table gives July 2022. Contract signed 14 September 2018 (plwiki: 13 September) with Strabag sp. z o.o. and Budimex SA; the table value includes VAT.

Opened17 km
  1. Sep 14, 2018Tender awarded
  2. Jun 24, 2022Opened
––
  • Strabag sp. z o.o.Builder
  • Budimex SABuilder
Contract value zł573.14M
Radomsko – łódzkie/śląskie border

Section D (chainage km 392+720 to 399+742.51; 7.02 km, plwiki: 7 km). The geometry is cut 7.02 km after Radomsko junction because the voivodeship border is not a mapped node. Opened 24 June 2022. Contract with Intercor sp. z o.o. signed 30 August 2018; the table value includes VAT.

Opened7 km
  1. Aug 30, 2018Tender awarded
  2. Jun 24, 2022Opened
––
  • Intercor sp. z o.o.Builder
Contract value zł338.25M
łódzkie/śląskie border – Rząsawa

Section E (voivodeship border to Rząsawa junction, bez węzła; 16.7 km in plwiki). Rząsawa is the former name of the Częstochowa Północ junction (plwiki), so the geometry ends there, not at the Mykanów junction 4 km to the north. Drawn centreline is 20.7 km, 24% longer than the sourced length, which is kept: the voivodeship border is not a mapped node, so the cut with Radomsko – border is approximate (sections D, E and F together draw 45.7 km against 44.0 km sourced). Opened 24 June 2022. Contract with Polaqua sp. z o.o. signed 23 July 2018; the table value includes VAT.

Opened17 km
  1. Jul 23, 2018Tender awarded
  2. Jun 24, 2022Opened
––
  • Polaqua sp. z o.o.Builder
Contract value zł596.52M
Rząsawa – Częstochowa Blachownia

Section F, from Rząsawa junction (now Częstochowa Północ) to Blachownia (20.3 km in plwiki; drawn 18.0 km, 11% shorter, see the note on the previous section). The original contract (12 October 2015) was terminated on 29 April 2019. The main line opened to traffic on 23 December 2019 with an 80 km/h limit while work continued; the Jasna Góra junction opened on 15 February 2020 and the Blachownia junction on 10 June 2020. The security works contract is separate from the 703.28 million PLN award (VAT included); the completion contract is not recorded.

Opened20 km
  1. Oct 12, 2015Tender awarded
  2. Dec 23, 2019Opened
––
  • Salini Polska sp. z o.o.Builder
  • Webuild S.p.A.Builder
  • Todini Costruzioni Generali S.p.A.Builder
  • Strabag Infrastruktura Południe sp. z o.o.Builder
  • Budimex SABuilder
  • Budpol sp. z o.o.Builder
Contract value zł703.28M
Częstochowa Blachownia – Częstochowa Południe

Section G, chainage km 437+800 to 442+500 (4.7 km), design-build. The GDDKiA page records the opening on 2 August 2019; plwiki adds that it could carry no traffic until Blachownia junction opened (10 June 2020). Contract with Berger Bau Polska sp. z o.o. and Berger Bau GmbH signed 31 August 2015, 219,382,321.53 PLN gross. Grant agreement under POIiŚ 2014–2020 (Cohesion Fund) signed 27 June 2016.

Opened5 km
  1. Aug 31, 2015Tender awarded
  2. Aug 2, 2019Opened
–
  • European UnionGrant agreement under the Infrastructure and Environment Operational Programme 2014–2020 (POIiŚ), signed 27 June 2016.
  • Berger Bau Polska sp. z o.o.Builder
  • Berger Bau GmbHBuilder
Contract value zł219.38M
Częstochowa Południe – Woźniki

Section H (Zawodzie bez węzła – Woźniki z węzłem). Length measured from OpenStreetMap geometry; the sourced figure for H and I together is 33 km. Opened with section I on 2 August 2019. Contract with Strabag Infrastruktura Południe sp. z o.o. and Strabag sp. z o.o. signed 4 March 2016; the table value includes VAT.

Opened17 km
  1. Mar 4, 2016Tender awarded
  2. Aug 2, 2019Opened
––
  • Strabag Infrastruktura Południe sp. z o.o.Builder
  • Strabag sp. z o.o.Builder
Contract value zł574.47M
Woźniki – Pyrzowice

Section I (Woźniki bez węzła – Pyrzowice bez węzła). Length measured from OpenStreetMap geometry; the sourced figure for H and I together is 33 km. Opened on 2 August 2019. Contract with Strabag Infrastruktura Południe sp. z o.o. and Strabag sp. z o.o. signed 26 August 2015; the table value (609,501,183.07 PLN) includes VAT.

Opened16 km
  1. Aug 26, 2015Tender awarded
  2. Aug 2, 2019Opened
––
  • Strabag Infrastruktura Południe sp. z o.o.Builder
  • Strabag sp. z o.o.Builder
Contract value zł609.5M
Pyrzowice – Piekary Śląskie

Contract signed 27 July 2009 with a consortium of Budimex Dromex and Mostostal Warszawa for 16.1 km, planned for completion in March 2012 at nearly 1,830 million PLN (VAT basis not stated). Occupancy permit 29 May 2012, opened 1 June 2012. The whole Sośnica – Pyrzowice stretch cost 5,859 million PLN, of which 4,652 million PLN were EU funds (plwiki). Drawn centreline is 8% shorter than the sourced length.

Opened16 km
  1. Jul 27, 2009Tender awarded
  2. Jun 1, 2012Opened
––
  • Budimex DromexBuilder
  • Mostostal WarszawaBuilder
–
Piekary Śląskie – Zabrze Północ

Opened on 1 June 2012 with Pyrzowice – Piekary Śląskie (together 28 km Pyrzowice – Zabrze Północ). Finishing work ran to September 2012; the Bytom junction opened late on 17 October 2012.

Opened12 km
  1. Jun 1, 2012Opened
––––
Zabrze Północ – Gliwice Wschód

Opened on 22 December 2011 (8.06 km in the plwiki text, 8.1 km in its table). Drawn centreline is 15% longer than the sourced figure, which is kept.

Opened8 km
  1. Dec 22, 2011Opened
––––
Gliwice Wschód – Gliwice Sośnica

Opened on 30 September 2011 as Maciejów (Gliwice Wschód junction) – Gliwice Sośnica, 6.017 km (GDDKiA: 6.017 km, 13 structures, co-financed by the Cohesion Fund). Built from March 2009 by a consortium led by Polimex Mostostal with DOPRASTAV, Eurovia Polska and PRDiM; contract signed 9 March 2009. plwiki gives the construction cost as 1.1 billion PLN, with no price year or VAT basis; the GDDKiA page it cites does not state a cost, so no figure is recorded. The geometry runs between the mapped Gliwice Wschód junction and the centre of the Sośnica interchange and draws 6.5 km, 8% longer than the sourced length, which is kept; the separate 2.2 km Sośnica interchange (opened 23 December 2009, finished 7 July 2010) is not a lot of its own.

Opened6 km
  1. Mar 9, 2009Tender awarded
  2. Sep 30, 2011Opened
––
  • Polimex MostostalBuilder
  • DOPRASTAV a.s.Builder
  • Eurovia Polska S.A.Builder
  • PRDiM S.A.Builder
–
Gliwice Sośnica – Rybnik

Opened on 23 December 2009 as Gliwice Sośnica – Bełk (renamed Rybnik in 2011); 15.5 km in the plwiki text, 15.4 km in its table. The Cohesion Fund covered 83% of the project cost of nearly 250 million EUR. The Sośnica interchange (2.2 km in the plwiki table) was built by J&P Avax (contract 30 May 2008), opened 23 December 2009 and finished on 7 July 2010. Drawn centreline runs from the interchange centre and matches the sourced length.

Opened16 km
  1. Mar 26, 2007Construction start
  2. Dec 23, 2009Opened
–
  • European UnionThe Cohesion Fund covered 83% of the project cost, which reached nearly 250 million EUR (plwiki).
  • J&P AvaxBuilder
–
Rybnik – Żory

Opened on 15 December 2010 as Bełk – Rowień (now Rybnik – Żory), 7.5 km. Drawn centreline is 14% shorter than the sourced length, which is kept.

Opened8 km
  1. Dec 15, 2010Opened
––––
Żory – Świerklany

Opened on 21 April 2011 (7 km in the plwiki text, 6.6 km in its table). The whole Rybnik – Świerklany stretch was planned for November 2010; a flood inundated the site. Drawn centreline is 14% longer than the sourced length, which is kept.

Opened7 km
  1. Apr 21, 2011Opened
––––
Świerklany – Mszana

Opened on 23 May 2014, completing Gliwice – Czech border; the formal completion date was 17 July. The date slipped from spring 2012 to August 2013 because of problems at the Mszana bridge; Alpine Bau withdrew from the bridge in May 2013 and Intercor signed on 26 June 2013 to finish it (plwiki article on the bridge). Świerklany – Gorzyczki (18.4 km) began on 16 November 2007 with a consortium of Alpine Meyreder Bau GmbH and Alpine Bau Deutschland. GDDKiA terminated that contract in December 2009 for slow progress. A tender result of 13 August 2010 chose Alpine Bau (legally a different entity), and GDDKiA terminated the contracts signed in June 2010 on 6 September 2010; the contract for the section was signed on 1 October 2010.

Opened7 km
  1. Nov 16, 2007Construction start
  2. May 23, 2014Opened
––
  • Alpine BauBuilder
  • IntercorBuilder
–
Mszana – Gorzyczki

Opened on 30 November 2012 (11.1 km) to the Czech border at Gorzyczki, with traffic routed around the unfinished Mszana bridge by regional roads and, for lorries, national road 78. The section links to the Czech D1 (Bohumín). Świerklany – Gorzyczki (18.4 km) began on 16 November 2007 with a consortium of Alpine Meyreder Bau GmbH and Alpine Bau Deutschland. GDDKiA terminated that contract in December 2009 for slow progress. A tender result of 13 August 2010 chose Alpine Bau (legally a different entity), and GDDKiA terminated the contracts signed in June 2010 on 6 September 2010; the contract for the section was signed on 1 October 2010.

Opened11 km
  1. Nov 16, 2007Construction start
  2. Nov 30, 2012Opened
––
  • Alpine BauBuilder
–

Contractor roles are as recorded in the award. Only builders count toward the delivery rankings.

Funding

  • European Union20 km
    2 sections
    • Grant agreement under the Infrastructure and Environment Operational Programme 2014–2020 (POIiŚ), signed 27 June 2016.
    • The Cohesion Fund covered 83% of the project cost, which reached nearly 250 million EUR (plwiki).

A section that lists two sources counts its full length under each: the data records which sources paid, not what share each one carried.

Related projects

Sources

  1. Wikipedia (pl): Autostrada A1 (Polska), tables Istniejące odcinki, Historia budowy (cites GDDKiA releases)read Oct 5, 2026
  2. GDDKiA: Bieżąca realizacja RPBDK do 2030 r., monthly contract table (PDF, September 2026 edition; values include VAT)read Oct 5, 2026
  3. GDDKiA archive: Otwarcie autostrady A1 na odcinku Swarożyn – Nowe Marzy (18 October 2008)read Oct 5, 2026
  4. GDDKiA archive: Autostrada A1 z Torunia do Włocławka OTWARTA (21 December 2013)read Oct 5, 2026
  5. GDDKiA archive, Mapa Stanu Budowy Dróg: A1, Odcinek G – węzeł Blachownia (bez węzła) – węzeł Zawodzie (z węzłem)read Oct 5, 2026
  6. OpenStreetMap: relation 2238775, A1 (network PL:motorway)read Oct 5, 2026
  7. OpenStreetMap contributors: route geometry (ODbL)read Oct 5, 2026
  8. GDDKiA archive: A-1 Maciejów-Sośnica - otwarta do ruchu (30 September 2011)read Oct 9, 2026
  9. GDDKiA archive: Autostrada A1 Włocławek – Kowal OTWARTA (30 April 2014)read Oct 9, 2026
  10. Wikipedia (pl): Most autostradowy w Mszanieread Oct 9, 2026