Skip to content
InfraWorldWide
← All projects
Railways

Palaiofarsalos – Kalambaka railway: electrification and signalling

Electrification, remote-controlled signalling and ETCS level 1 on the existing single-track standard-gauge line from the Athens – Thessaloniki main line at Palaiofarsalos through Sofades, Karditsa and Trikala to Kalambaka. ERGOSE manages the works. The line itself is not new; the project adds systems to existing track.

Total length
80 km
Open today
0 km
Under construction
80 km
Sections
1
Cost on record
€57.531M
1 of 1 sections carry a comparable figure

Restated into EUR at 2025 prices.

Loading map data…

Sections

Sections of Palaiofarsalos – Kalambaka railway: electrification and signalling: status, length, dates, cost, funding and contractors
SectionsStatusLengthTimelineCostFundingContractorsContract terms
Palaiofarsalos – Kalambaka signalling, ETCS and electrification

Electronic signalling remote-controlled from the Larissa traffic control centre, ETCS level 1, overhead contact line, a new traction substation at Vasiliki (Trikala) connected to the ADMIE grid, SCADA, a new bypass track and a 150 m platform at Sofades, and replacement of 38 level crossing protection systems on the existing single line. ERGOSE gives EUR 50.68 million excluding VAT and planned completion in 2025, and its page (dated 20 December 2022) lists the project as in progress. The ERGOSE press release and press of the signing day (24 November 2022) name AVAX as contractor and give a contract price of EUR 52.2 million (VAT not stated) and 36 months; the difference from the ERGOSE figure is not explained. A press report of 22 June 2026 says phase B was formally included in the funding programme, with the operation running from 21 December 2022 to 31 December 2030, so the 2025 date was not met on that evidence. No source seen reports the share of work done. The line is 80.4 km according to the same press report; the drawn OpenStreetMap line measures 78.6 km and starts at the junction with the main line at Palaiofarsalos. Works on the main line itself (Domokos – Krannon) are recorded in the Athens – Thessaloniki project.

Under construction
47 of 36 contracted months
11 months past the contract date
80 km
  1. Nov 24, 2022Tender awarded
  2. Nov 24, 2022Construction start
  3. ≈2025Expected openingProjected from contract
  • Estimated €50.68Mworks onlyProject cost as given by ERGOSE, excluding VAT. Price year not stated.
  • European UnionPhase A under the Operational Programme Transport Infrastructure, Environment and Sustainable Development 2014–2020, to 31 December 2023 (estimated budget EUR 31.36 million); phase B under the 2021–2027 programming period
  • AVAXBuilder
36 mo total · Contract value €52.2M

Contractor roles are as recorded in the award. Only builders count toward the delivery rankings.

Funding

  • European Union80 km
    1 section
    • Phase A under the Operational Programme Transport Infrastructure, Environment and Sustainable Development 2014–2020, to 31 December 2023 (estimated budget EUR 31.36 million); phase B under the 2021–2027 programming period

A section that lists two sources counts its full length under each: the data records which sources paid, not what share each one carried.

Related projects

Sources

  1. ERGOSE: Εγκατάσταση Ηλεκτροκίνησης, Σηματοδότησης – Τηλεδιοίκησης και ETCS L1 στην υφιστάμενη μονή σιδηροδρομική γραμμή Παλαιοφάρσαλος – Καλαμπάκα (project page)read Oct 9, 2026
  2. ot.gr: ΕΡΓΟΣΕ: Υπογράφηκε η σύμβαση για την ηλεκτροκίνηση στη γραμμή Παλαιοφάρσαλος – Καλαμπάκα (2022-11-24)read Oct 9, 2026
  3. ERGOSE: ΔΕΛΤΙΟ ΤΥΠΟΥ: Υπεγράφη η σύμβαση για την αναβάθμιση της σιδηροδρομικής σύνδεσης Παλαιοφάρσαλος– Καλαμπάκα (2022-11-24)read Oct 9, 2026
  4. iFarsala: Υπογράφηκε η ηλεκτροκίνηση και η τηλεδιοίκηση στη γραμμή Παλαιοφάρσαλος – Καλαμπάκα (2026-06-22)read Oct 9, 2026
  5. OpenStreetMap contributors: route geometry (ODbL)read Oct 9, 2026