Skip to content
InfraWorldWide
← All projects
Railways

Railway line 201 Kościerzyna – Somonino – Gdynia Główna (modernisation, electrification and second track) and Pomorska Kolej Metropolitalna line 248

PKP PLK is modernising line 201 between Kościerzyna and Gdynia Główna: electrification and a second track, split into contracts. Kościerzyna – Somonino (Budimex) and Somonino – Gdańsk Osowa (a PMT / Trakcja / ZRK-DOM consortium) are signed and under construction, with traffic stopped on both since 30 June 2025. Gdańsk Osowa – Gdynia Główna is one contract planned for 2026–2031. Line 248, built by Pomorska Kolej Metropolitalna S.A. from Gdańsk Wrzeszcz to a junction with line 201 at Rębiechowo, opened on 1 September 2015 and is a separate lot.

Total length
89 km
Open today
18 km
Sections
4
Cost on record
€874.533M
3 of 4 sections carry a comparable figure

Restated into EUR at 2025 prices.

Loading map data…

Sections

Sections of Railway line 201 Kościerzyna – Somonino – Gdynia Główna (modernisation, electrification and second track) and Pomorska Kolej Metropolitalna line 248: status, length, dates, cost, funding and contractors
SectionsStatusLengthTimelineCostFundingContractorsContract terms
Kościerzyna – Somonino (line 201)

Works contract "Odcinek A" of the project "Prace na odcinku Kościerzyna – Gdynia": about 27 km of line 201 plus 8 km of line 214, PLN 1.275 billion net (1.559 billion gross), signed on 12 December 2024 (gov.pl). Rail traffic on Kościerzyna – Somonino – Gdańsk Osowa has been stopped since 30 June 2025. PLK plans to resume trains Kościerzyna – Somonino in December 2027 and to finish all works on this stretch by the end of 2027. The drawn line follows the existing track (24.7 km measured from OpenStreetMap), shorter than the 27 km PLK figure; the sourced length is kept.

Under construction27 km
  1. Dec 12, 2024Tender awarded
  2. Dec 2027Expected opening
–
  • National budgetNational funds under the Krajowy Program Kolejowy
  • BudimexBuilder
Contract value zł1.3B
Somonino – Gdańsk Osowa (line 201)

Works contract "Odcinek B", PLN 1,253,589,722.58 net (1.541 billion gross), for more than 28 km of line 201 with a second track and electrification, plus electrification of line 229 Glincz – Kartuzy. PLK gives the end of works as 2027 (without acceptance), passenger speeds up to 140 km/h after approvals. Traffic has been stopped since 30 June 2025; PLK plans to resume trains Somonino – Gdańsk Osowa in December 2026. The drawn line follows the existing track (25.8 km measured from OpenStreetMap), shorter than the PLK figure; the sourced length is kept.

Under construction28 km
  1. Sep 20, 2024Tender awarded
–
  • National budgetLine 201 works are paid from the state budget
  • European UnionLine 229 part: Fundusze Europejskie na Infrastrukturę, Klimat, Środowisko 2021–2027 (FEnIKS); amount not stated
  • Pomorskie Przedsiębiorstwo Mechaniczno-Torowe – TRAKCJA – Zakład Robót Komunikacyjnych DOM w PoznaniuBuilder
Contract value zł1.3B
Gdańsk Osowa – Gdynia Główna (line 201)

PLK plans one contract for this section, with works in 2026–2031 and the whole project, including permits, to be completed by 2032. No tender, contractor or value is recorded. Length measured from OpenStreetMap geometry.

Planned16 km–––––
Pomorska Kolej Metropolitalna: Gdańsk Wrzeszcz – Rębiechowo (line 248)

Built by Pomorska Kolej Metropolitalna S.A. (a Pomeranian Voivodeship company): a 17 km double-track line from Gdańsk Wrzeszcz plus a 1.4 km connector to line 201 towards Kościerzyna, joining it at Rębiechowo; trains then use line 201 to Gdynia Główna. Works contract PLN 716,136,838.06 including VAT. Wikipedia gives the total project as PLN 907 million net including PLN 186.5 million of land, and PLN 949 million with the Gdańsk Osowa station and two Gdynia stops; these cover more than the line and are not recorded as cost. Wikipedia also records a PLN 106 million connection works contract won in 2014 by a Rubau-led consortium. PKM's own 2013 release gives the contract as PLN 582.2 million net (716.3 million gross).

Opened18 km
  1. Mar 7, 2013Tender awarded
  2. May 8, 2013Construction start
  3. Sep 1, 2015Opened
  • Estimated zł769.9MestimatedExcluding VAT. Original estimated cost of the line; price year not stated.
  • European UnionOperational Programme Infrastructure and Environment: PLN 500.9 million of the PLN 769.9 million original estimate
  • Budimex – Ferrovial AgromanBuilder
Contract value zł716.14M

Contractor roles are as recorded in the award. Only builders count toward the delivery rankings.

Funding

  • National budget55 km
    2 sections
    • National funds under the Krajowy Program Kolejowy
    • Line 201 works are paid from the state budget
  • European Union46 km
    2 sections
    • Line 229 part: Fundusze Europejskie na Infrastrukturę, Klimat, Środowisko 2021–2027 (FEnIKS); amount not stated
    • Operational Programme Infrastructure and Environment: PLN 500.9 million of the PLN 769.9 million original estimate

A section that lists two sources counts its full length under each: the data records which sources paid, not what share each one carried.

Related projects

Sources

  1. PKP PLK: Nowa jakość podróżowania koleją z Kaszub do Trójmiastaread Oct 10, 2026
  2. PKP PLK: Kaszuby przed kolejową rewolucją – od 30 czerwca ważne zmiany dla podróżnychread Oct 10, 2026
  3. Wikipedia (pl): Linia kolejowa nr 201read Oct 10, 2026
  4. Wikipedia (pl): Pomorska Kolej Metropolitalnaread Oct 10, 2026
  5. OpenStreetMap contributors: railway line 201 (geometry, ODbL)read Oct 10, 2026
  6. Ministerstwo Infrastruktury (gov.pl): Nowa jakość podróżowania koleją na Pomorzuread Oct 10, 2026
  7. PKM S.A.: Umowa na budowę Pomorskiej Kolei Metropolitalnej podpisanaread Oct 10, 2026
  8. PKM S.A.: Ruszyła Pomorska Kolej Metropolitalnaread Oct 10, 2026
  9. OpenStreetMap contributors: railway line 248 (geometry, ODbL)read Oct 10, 2026