Centralna Magistrala Kolejowa (line 4 Grodzisk Mazowiecki – Zawiercie)
Line 4 of PKP PLK, the Central Railway Trunk Line (CMK), is a two-track 3 kV DC line of 223.8 km (km 1.091 to 224.915) from Grodzisk Mazowiecki to Zawiercie. It was built in 1971–1977: the first track from Zawiercie to Idzikowice opened on 26 September 1974, Idzikowice – Szeligi on 30 June 1977 and the last section to Grodzisk Mazowiecki on 28 December 1977. It stays open throughout and is modelled as three lots on the existing line, so the old railway shows as opened before the upgrade. The upgrade is a series of separate PLK contracts, listed in the lot notes: 200 km/h has been permitted on Olszamowice – Zawiercie since 14 December 2014 and on Grodzisk Mazowiecki – Idzikowice since 10 December 2017. In March 2024 PLK said it was building ETCS level 2 on the 210 km Korytów – Zawiercie section for PLN 361 million, as part of preparing the line for 250 km/h. Also drawn is the new single-track link, line 582 Czarnca – Włoszczowa Północ, opened in December 2022.
- Total length
- 229 km
- Open today
- 229 km
- Sections
- 4
- Cost on record
- €14.372M
- 1 of 4 sections carry a comparable figure
Restated into EUR at 2025 prices.
Sections
| Sections | Status | Length | Timeline | Cost | Funding | Contractors | Contract terms |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grodzisk Mazowiecki – Idzikowice Chainage km 1.091 – 80.608 (79.517 km). Original opening 1977 in two parts. 200 km/h was introduced on this 80 km section on 10 December 2017. Overhead line Szeligi – Idzikowice (km 24.023 – 79.309, 55 km over both tracks): contract signed on 20 June 2012 with PKP Energetyka, net value PLN 65.9 million including design, with completion planned by 5 June 2013 (the report does not say it was completed). Line 4 also carries ETCS level 2 works on Korytów – Zawiercie (PLN 361 million for the whole 210 km, not split by lot, basis not stated). | Opened | 80 km |
| – | – |
| – |
| Idzikowice – Olszamowice Chainage km 80.608 – 124.808 (44.2 km). Original opening 1974. Named contracts: Idzikowice station and local control centre, Budimex and KZA Lublin consortium, design-and-build, PLN 106 million (basis not stated), works from February 2018, final acceptance in June 2020, two weeks before the contract deadline. Opoczno Południe station (km 92.142), design and works with a second platform, Porr Polska Construction S.A. (spelt "Porr Polska Construcion S.A." in the source), contract signed 16 May 2017, almost PLN 55 million (basis not stated), works planned for 2017–2019. Olszamowice station, Budimex, design and works worth almost PLN 45 million (basis not stated), completion reported on 21 August 2018. The Pilichowice junction post (km 106.588) opened on 11 August 2017. About 40 km of overhead line between Idzikowice and Olszamowice has been replaced. | Opened | 44 km |
| – | – |
| – |
| Olszamowice – Zawiercie Chainage km 124.808 – 224.915 (100.107 km). Original opening 1974. Scheduled 200 km/h service with ED250 Pendolino began on 14 December 2014 between km 125.2 and 212.2, excluding the Włoszczowa Północ station area and a stretch with level crossings (76.82 km in total); in March 2017 the 200 km/h stretch was shortened to 58 km (km 156.496–214.800) for the station works. Włoszczowa Północ station (km 154.39), second platform: contract signed in early November 2016 with Trakcja PRKiI, PLN 57 million net, works planned to the end of May 2018; the new platform opened on 11 August 2017. In March 2024 PLK described works on this lot: Psary – Zawiercie track renewal worth PLN 305 million, Knapówka junction post PLN 38 million, Zawiercie station PLN 96 million (basis not stated for these three, contractors not named). The PLN 361 million ETCS level 2 contract covers Korytów – Zawiercie, across all three lots. Speed on the line was lowered from 200 to 160 km/h in 2024 while ETCS level 1 was switched off; PLK says 250 km/h needs ETCS level 2 and GSM-R, with GSM-R tests planned for August 2026 in a PLK release of 16 April 2026 (not cited here). | Opened | 100 km |
| – | – |
| – |
| Line 582 Czarnca – Włoszczowa Północ (new link) Single-track electrified link between Czarnca junction on line 61 and Włoszczowa Północ on line 4, allowing trains from Kielce to enter the CMK northwards. The length is the 5.025 km in PLK's line list (Id-12, as cited on plwiki); PLK's press release calls it a three-kilometre link and the 2017 report gives about 3.2 km, which is also what is drawn, so the drawn line is shorter than the recorded length. The 2017 press report put the total cost at almost PLN 50 million with VAT, of which PLN 40.2 million net for ZUE. At completion PLK gave the project value as about PLN 42.8 million (basis not stated). Passenger trains up to 100 km/h, freight 80 km/h. The press forecast of December 2019 for opening was missed. Plwiki says works were reported begun in early July 2018 but that, because of plot-division problems, they actually started at the end of 2020, so no construction start is recorded. | Opened | 5 km |
| – |
|
| Contract value zł40.2M |
Contractor roles are as recorded in the award. Only builders count toward the delivery rankings.
Funding
- European Union5 km1 section
- Regional Operational Programme of Świętokrzyskie Voivodeship (ERDF): project value about PLN 42.8 million, of which EU co-financing over PLN 36 million
A section that lists two sources counts its full length under each: the data records which sources paid, not what share each one carried.
Related projects
- RailwaysE65 Warszawa – Gdynia railway modernisation (line 9)Same contractor: Budimex, PKP Energetyka, Trakcja
- RailwaysRailway line 8 Warszawa – Radom – Kielce – Kraków (modernisation)Same contractor: Budimex, Trakcja, ZUE
- HighwaysS61 expressway Via Baltica (Ostrów Mazowiecka – Łomża – Ełk – Suwałki – Budzisko)Same contractor: Budimex, Porr, Trakcja
- RailwaysRailway line 201 Kościerzyna – Somonino – Gdynia Główna (modernisation, electrification and second track) and Pomorska Kolej Metropolitalna line 248Same contractor: Budimex, Trakcja
- RailwaysPodłęże – Piekiełko new line and line 104 Chabówka – Nowy Sącz rebuildSame contractor: Budimex, Porr
- HighwaysS1 expressway (Pyrzowice – Dąbrowa Górnicza – Mysłowice – Bielsko-Biała – Żywiec – Zwardoń)Same contractor: Budimex, Porr
Sources
- Wikipedia (pl): Linia kolejowa nr 4 (chainage, 1974–1977 openings, 200 km/h dates, station contracts)read Oct 10, 2026
- Wikipedia (pl): Linia kolejowa nr 582 Czarnca – Włoszczowa Północread Oct 10, 2026
- PKP PLK: Prace na CMK dla szybszych podróży koleją (11 March 2024)read Oct 10, 2026
- PKP PLK: Łącznica Czarnca – Włoszczowa Północ usprawni możliwości podróży pociągiem (6 December 2022)read Oct 10, 2026
- Inforail: Będzie łącznik między Kielcami a CMK (Czarnca-Włoszczowa Północ) (29 December 2017)read Oct 10, 2026
- Rynek Kolejowy: Trakcja PRKiI zmodernizuje Włoszczowę Północ (8 November 2016)read Oct 10, 2026
- Inforail: Drugie perony na stacjach Opoczno Południe i Włoszczowa Południe (17 May 2017)read Oct 10, 2026
- Rynek Kolejowy: Budimex zakończył przebudowę stacji Olszamowice (21 August 2018)read Oct 10, 2026
- Budimex: LCS Idzikowice na CMK zmodernizowane przed terminem (13 July 2020)read Oct 10, 2026
- Rynek Kolejowy: PKP Energetyka zmodernizuje sieć trakcyjną na CMK (25 June 2012)read Oct 10, 2026
- OpenStreetMap contributors (geometry of line 4 and line 582, ODbL)read Oct 10, 2026
Figures last checked against their sources in Oct 10, 2026.